- Phone: 401-222-5960
- Licensing Unit Room 105A,
- 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM, Weekdays
- Parking is restricted until 3 PM
State of Rhode Island
Department of Health
Renewal notices are sent out 60 days before your expiration date. Renew Online
If you have previously held a Rhode Island medical license, please contact the Board for a reactivation or reinstatement application.
Initial licensure for a physician is done exclusively through the Federation Credentialing Verification Service (FCVS). Please review our Physician Initial Licensure Qualifications and Application Instructions to begin the process and make sure that you meet all qualifications and submit all the necessary paperwork. more
Physicians are required to document to the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline that they have earned a minimum of forty (40) hours of American Medical Association, Physician Recognition Award or American Osteopathic Association (AOA Category 1a) continuing medical education credits.
At least 4 hours of continuing medical education shall be earned on topics of current concern as determined by the director of the Rhode Island Department of Health. Current topics include: Cultural Awareness, Risk Management, Antimicrobial Stewardship.
Required Alzheimer's Disease Training
Effective August 1, 2019, every physician has to complete one hour (per career) of CME training regarding Alzheimer’s disease. RI Law
Participate in a Virtual, No-Cost CME on Safe Opioid Prescribing
RIDOH has partnered with the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University to offer a virtual, no-cost Continuing Medical Education (CME) opportunity on best practices related to postoperative pain management and safe opioid prescribing.
Participants will receive a maximum of 1.0 American Medical Association (AMA) Physician's Recognition Award (PRA) Category 1 Credit™. Credit for this program has also been accepted by the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) and the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP). Physician Assistants (PAs) and Nurse Practitioners (NPs) who participate in this CME will receive a certificate of attendance verifying designation for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. The Rhode Island Dental Association has approved this activity for 1.0 Continuing Education credit for participating dentists.
For more information and to schedule a one-on-one CME, please email Carol Stone.
The Deparment, and the Warren Alpert Medical School, can help you meet your continuing educations requirements.Upcoming events Webinars
Best Practices Under RI's Confidentiality of Health Care Communications and Information Act
Physicians and other healthcare providers who retire or stop practicing for other reasons should do their best to provide patients with continuity of care. When practices break up or separate, keep the patients’ interests first and foremost. The Rhode Island Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline frowns upon complaints that suggest physicians are fighting over patients or “using the patients” as part of the break up. Rhode Island law specifically requires that you:
Community Health Network Programs
All programs complement the clinical care of providers. By the end of the program, patients will have learned how to set goals to improve their health and lifestyle, manage their symptoms and medication, work with their health care team, talk with family and doctors, relax, eat well and handle difficult emotions. By gaining these skills, patients will become activated and engaged in their care. Healthcare providers will receive feedback on the status of any patient referrals.
Review the training materials, resources, and videos on the Rhode Island Vital Events Registration System (RIVERS) located at: https://health.ri.gov/records
The Rhode Island State-Supplied Vaccine (SSV) program provides vaccine to healthcare providers to immunize people of all ages. A table with details about these vaccines, including their age indications, is available. A series of immunization requirements is in place to ensure that all healthcare providers are properly immunized.
An Immunization Resource Manual is located at the bottom of this page. It contains up-to-date immunization resources and information about topics such as vaccine recommendations, ordering, storage and handling, scheduling, administration, and more.
Children are required to have certain immunizations before they enter child care, pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, 7th, 8th, 9th, and 12th grade. They can be exempted from immunizations for either religious or medical reasons. A medical exemption certificate must be signed by a medical provider. A religious exemption certificate can be signed by a parent/guardian or student (18+).
Healthcare providers can enroll in the program to order vaccine for both pediatric and adult patients. Enrollment must be completed online annually.
Providers who participate in the State-Supplied Vaccine Program must agree to the program's terms and conditions and adhere to certain requirements for ordering, storing, and reporting on vaccines.
Before administering any vaccine, healthcare providers must give the current Vaccine Information Statement to patients (or their parents or guardians). This must be documented in the patient's medical record.
Non-influenza state-supplied vaccine can be provided to all children (younger than 19 years of age). Adult, insured Rhode Island residents and adults who are non-Rhode Island residents but who are covered by a Rhode Island employer’s health plan are also eligible for non-influenza state-supplied vaccine if they are:
Adults who are not in one of these categories can be vaccinated as follows:
|Patient type||Where/how to vaccinate|
|Uninsured but able to pay||Doctor's office/Privately-purchased vaccine, St. Joseph Center for Health and Human Services - Adult Walk-in, Community Health Center, or a Pharmacy|
|Uninsured and unable to pay||St. Joseph Center for Health and Human Services - Adult Walk-in, Community Health Center|
|Insured, but not through a Rhode Island employer||Doctor's Office/Privately-purchased vaccine or a Pharmacy|
Medical Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (MOLST)
Medical Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (MOLST) are instructions to follow a terminally ill patient’s wishes regarding resuscitation, feeding tubes and other life-sustaining medical treatments. The MOLST form can be used to refuse or request treatments and are completely voluntary on the part of patients. These orders can supplement Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) instructions or a COMFORT ONE bracelet. more
A physician, registered nurse practitioner, advanced practice registered nurse or physician assistant who is authorized by the patient is authorized to sign Medical Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment.
Medical Records & Meaningful use
Store patient’s medical records for at least five years after the most recent patient encounter, regardless of whether the patient is alive or dead. Providers may charge a reasonable administrative fee for copying medical records; however, the transfer of medical records cannot be delayed due to non-payment of administrative fees. more
Provide copies when requested. Providers may charge a reasonable administrative fee for copying medical records; however, the transfer of medical records cannot be delayed due to non-payment of administrative fees. Records should be provided within 30 days. more
Make sure that records are still available if the practice is closed.
Use Electronic Health Records which provide better way to see long term medical issues and track trends among groups of people. Healthcare providers who accept medicaid or medicare must meet "meaningful use" standards. more
Screen all patients and caregivers.
Educate yourself, patients, and staff.
Promote increased access to naloxone.
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
Register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) . Check the PDMP each time you dispense/prescribe a controlled substance to help prevent fraudulent prescriptions from being filled. This will also help identify suspected pharmacy/doctor "shopping." More
Contact us for PDMP support.
Psychiatric Resource Network Programs
Teleconsultation lines for providers who see perinatal and/or pediatric patients to receive real-time clinical consultations with specialty psychiatrists to discuss patient diagnosis, treatment planning, medication safety, and referral support.
Learn more about the Psychiatric Resource Network (PRN) lines.
Prescribing pharmaceutical stimulant(s) for ADD/ADHD is common and, at times, very appropriate. As with any controlled substance, consideration and safeguards are necessary to prescribe responsibly and to prevent diversion. Diversion of stimulants is different and more common in the adolescent and young adult populations. These patients are more likely to share their stimulants and are not aware of the risks of doing so. Prescribers have a professional duty to prevent diversion of controlled substances. Please review this educational policy in its entirety.more
Zika Laboratory Test Results Interpretation
Per the FDA Emergency Use Authorization, medical providers and patients are to be provided with factsheets for understanding this test.