Opioid Overdose Reporting
Hospitals and Emergency Departments (EDs) across the state are required by regulation 216-RICR-20-20-5 to report all cases of suspected opioid overdoses within 48 hours. This reporting requirement creates a consistent system for tracking anonymous data from patients who are admitted to hospitals / EDs for a suspected drug overdose. The data identifies overdose risk factors as well as geographic clusters of overdoses in near real-time. As a result, the Rhode Island Department of Health and other entities can mobilize statewide resources to respond to the needs of high-risk populations.
What physicians, physician assistants, and registered nurses must do
- Report cases of opioid-related drug overdoses within 48 hours to the Rhode Island Department of Health.
- Provide demographic information concerning the person attended or treated without disclosing the name, address, or any other information concerning the person's identity.
What we have done
- Made consistent efforts to educate hospital and ED stakeholders on the reporting plan.
- Conducted site visits at hospitals / EDs with Medical Directors and support staff to review the reporting requirement.
What we do
- Mobilize statewide resources to respond to the needs of high-risk populations.
- Send certified mail to non-compliant hospitals / EDs indicating the failure to comply will result in a formal complaint.
What we will do