Due to COVID-19, we are experiencing a delay in the printing of licenses. All licensee status and expiration dates can be verified at https://healthri.mylicense.com/Verification.
Renewal applications are sent out 60 days before your expiration date. If you have lost your renewal application or did not receive one contact us for a new copy.
Hospitals in Rhode Island are licensed by the Center for Health Facilities Regulation and certified by the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs to provide acute medical care. Hospital facilities operated by the federal government are not licensed by the state
Establishment and Certificate of Need approval of a Hospital requires prior review by the Health Services Council and written approval of the Director of Health. Completion and submission of the Letter of Intent form and the Certificate of Need Application is a prerequisite to licensure. The Letter of Intent form must be submitted prior to submission of the Certificate of Need application to the Center for Health Systems Policy and Regulation. more
Transfers of 20 percent or more of ownership, assets membership interest, authority or control of a hospital in Rhode Island require approval by both the Department of Health and the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General under the authority of the Hospital Conversions Act.
Change in owner, operator, or lessee of a licensed Hospital also requires prior review by the Health Services Council and approval by the licensing agency. Completion and submission of the Change in Effective Control application is a prerequisite to any change. The Change in Effective Control application shall be submitted to the Center for Health Systems Policy Regulation.