The Rhode Island Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program implements the provisions of the Medical Marijuana Act and regulations for registered patients, caregivers and authorized purchasers. The Medical Marijuana Program accepts, reviews, and approves patient, caregiver and authorized purchaser applications and renewals. Rhode Island's Medical Marijuana Act does not alter federal statutes and regulations prohibiting the possession and use of marijuana.
Applications for patients receiving chemotherapy or who are eligible for hospice care will be expedited and approved within seventy-two (72) hours. The certifying physician will indicate on the Practitioner Written Certification Form.the need to expedite an application based on these criteria
Patient and caregiver registrations issued or renewed after January 1, 2017 will expire one year from the date of issuance. Registrations issued or renewed on or before December 31, 2016 will expire on the date indicated on the registry identification cards. Registrations renewed after January 1, 2017, will expire one year after the date it was issued.
The Rhode Island Department of Health will approve or deny an application or renewal within 35 days of receiving it.
This is a new category requiring registration with the Rhode Island Department of Health. A patient may designate an authorized purchaser to assist in purchasing and delivering marijuana from a compassion center. Each authorized purchaser can only assist one patient. An authorized purchaser must be 21 years old and satisfy a National Criminal Identification Check. An authorized purchaser may live out of state. Patients are limited to one authorized purchaser.
A primary caregiver must be at least 21 years of age and a resident of Rhode Island. A primary caregiver can assist no more than five patients with their use of medical marijuana. Patients are limited to one caregiver.
As of January 1, 2017 anyone applying for a primary caregiver registration must be a resident of Rhode Island. Caregivers who received registrations on or before December 31, 2016 will retain their primary caregiver status, but will need to show proof of Rhode Island residency to qualify for renewal when their caregiver registration expires.
Patients must indicate on their application whether they plan to grow medical marijuana plants for themselves. Patients who will grow marijuana and all primary caregivers must register their grow location with the Rhode Island Department of Health.
Everyone who grows marijuana, whether a patient or primary caregiver, must purchase plant tags from the Department of Business Regulation and is subject to their rules and regulations for tag use. If you have any questions regarding growing marijuana or plant tags, please contact them.
Plant Tag Certificate and Renewal Update - a new and improved system for issuing medical marijuana plant tags is now available at rimmptags.com. You are now able to renew your orders, update your grow address and print a Plant Tag Certificate which will reflect the number of plant tags issued to the cardholder.more