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and instructions for 

 
 

Assisted Living Residences 
RI General Law Chapter 23-17.4 

 
 
 

Licensee Name:               

 
Licensee Number:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

 
Reason for application (Please check all that apply): 

  

 

1.  Initial Licensure 
 

2.  Change of ownership 
 

3.  Change of address 
 

 

4.  Licensee/Residence Name Change 
 

(Complete the following for either 1, 2, or 3) 
 

 Current residence name:          License #:       
 
 Current address:            
 

 

5.  Increase, or 
 

6.  Decrease in occupancy/bed capacity: 
 

  From:        To:       1 
 

 

                                                           
1 Requires a fee payment equal to $70.00 per bed added. 
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INSTRUCTIONS 
 
• Please answer all questions.  Do not leave blanks. Incomplete forms will be returned to you and your license/permit 

will not be issued. Please use a ballpoint pen. 
 
• The fee for initial (new), change of ownership applications, or change of address is $330.00, plus $70.00 per licensed 

bed, $70 per bed for increases in existing capacity, and no charges for name change. 
 
• Make your check/money order payable to "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island".  Do not send cash. 
 
Sign the completed application, return it with the required fee and mail to: 

    Rhode Island Department of Health 
3 Capitol Hill, Room 306 
Providence, RI  02908-5097 

 
• If you have any questions concerning this application, call the office of Facilities Regulations at (401) 222-2566. 

 
• Licensure application materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and may be made available to 

the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal law. 
 
• You must attach a printed current list of all direct and indirect owners whether individual partnership, limited 

partnership, limited liability company, or corporation with percent of ownership. If a corporation, this list 
must also include all officers, directors and other persons of any subsidiary corporation owning stock. 

 
Attachments: Please label and staple each separate attachment and securely affix any and all additional documents 
and/or approvals to this application.  Required documents include, but are not limited to: 

o State Fire Marshall’s occupancy approval; 
o Department of Health, Office of Food Protection (401-222-2750) license for operation of a kitchen; 

 
Postage: The amount of postage required for mail delivery will vary depending upon the total weight of your attachment(s) and 
application.  Please be careful to include the appropriate postage necessary to mail your completed application. 
 

Please complete the following: 
 

 
ALR Bed Capacity: 
 
Includes all locations/wings 
Related to this license. 

 
Total Bed Capacity =             
 
 If Separate areas, # of beds by designation = F1-SCU =       F1 =      F2       
 
 Number of Single Bedrooms:       Number of Double Bedrooms:       

 
Levels of Care: 
 

 1: Special Care Units (SCU): 
 

Please write "0" if you do not 
have any special-care beds. 

 
Of total bed capacity, how many beds are located in a special care unit/program (i.e. Alzheimer’s/Dementia)? 
 

SCU capacity =       
 
NOTE: For a special care unit designation, you must attach a copy of your disclosure statement per sections "22.3, a) 
through h)" of the State Regulations, noting the additional care that is provided in the Special Care Unit. 

 
 2. Occupancy-Life Safety2: 
 

Please select appropriate 
levels of care. 

 
Occupancy and Fire Safety designation: 
 

  F1 - For SPECIAL CARE and residents who are not capable of self-preservation in an emergency: 
 
  F2 - For residents who are capable of self-preservation in an emergency. 
Other Fire Safety:  F1 Location            
 
   F2 Location           # F2 beds =      
 

 
 3. Medication Services: 
 

Please select appropriate 
levels of medication assistance 

 
Medication: 
 

  M1 - For residents who require someone to administer their medication to them. 
 
  M2 - For residents who can self-administer medications or may only require reminding to take  
  medications. 
 

 

                                                           
2 Requires documentation from State Fire Marshall’s office regarding occupancy approval. 



 

 
 

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Department of Health 

 

 Page 3 of 5 Ver. 1-10 
 

 

 

Residence Name: 
Name of the Residence  
as known to the public 

 

 
 
                

 

Assistant Living Residence Administrator: 
 
Please provide the name of the Assistant Living Residence 
Administrator of Record for this Residence. 
 
NOTE: This section must be completed as a requirement 
of your license. 

 
Name:          
 
E-mail:          
 

RI Assisted Living Administrator’s License #:       
RI Nursing Facility Administrator’s License #:       

 

Residence Contact Information: 
 
Please provide the name and 
telephone number of a person we 
can contact concerning this 
Residence. 

 
Phone: (     )      -        Fax: (     )      -       
 
Wed site/address:               
 
Residence e-mail address:              

 
Residence Physical Location: 
 
Please provide the location 
information for this Residence. 
 

(Published on HEALTH website). 

 
Address Line 1 
 
Address Line 2 
 
Address Line 3 
 
Address City, State, Zip Code         
 
Address Country          
  
Phone:           
 
Fax:               
 
Email Address:           
 

 
Residence Mailing Information: 
 
Please provide the mailing & contact 
information for other communication 

regarding this license. 
 

(Not published on HEALTH 
website). 

 
Contact name:               
 
Address Line 1          
 
Address Line 2          
 
Address Line 3          
 
Address City, State, Zip Code         
 
Address Country          
  
Phone:            
 
Fax:               
 
Email Address:           
 

 
Services Provided: 
 
Please check which services are 
provided by your employees or 
through written agreement with 
others. 
 
 
 

 
                 Housing                                                                    Housekeeping 
 
                 Activities                                                                   Laundry 
      
                 Medication (administer)                                            Assistance w/personal care needs 
 
                 Medication (assist)                                                   Food services/kitchen3 
                  
                Referrals                                                                    Fiduciary Agent 
 
                 Transportation                                                          Other: List Additional Services 
 
           
 

 

                                                           
3 Requires license approval from the Office of Food Protection 
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Ownership Type: 

Please check ONE 
 
 

License sub-type: 
Please select one 

 

 
  Corporation    Limited Liability Company     Sole Proprietorship 

 
  Partnership    Limited Partnership    Governmental Entity 

 
 

 Profit   Non-Profit 

 
Ownership Information: 
 

Please provide the ownership 
information for the Sole 

Proprietorship, Partnership, 
Limited Partnership, Corporation, 

Limited Liability Company or 
Governmental Entity. 

 
 
Name: 
 
 
DBA: 
 
Contact information (if different from above):        

 
Ownership Address  
Information: 
 
Please provide the address and 
telephone number(s) of the Sole 
Proprietorship, Partnership, 
Limited Partnership, Corporation, 
Limited Liability Company or 
Governmental Entity. 

 
 
Address Line 1 
 
Address Line 2 
 
Address Line 3 
 
Address City, State, Zip code 
 
Phone: 
 
Fax:  
 
Email Address:  
 

 
Parent Organization, Group 
Affiliation: 
  
Please complete this section if 
there is any parent organization, 
group affiliation or other entity 
that is on the top of the 
Residence/agency control 

 
 
Corporation Type 
 
Name of Organization 
 
Address Line 1 
 
Address Line 2 
 
Address Line 3 
 
Address City, State, Zip code 
 
Phone:  
 
Fax:  
 
Email Address:  
 

 
Land/Building Info: 
 
If the owner of the land and 
building is other than the operator 
of this agency/Residence, please 
complete the following: 

 
Name: 
 
Address Line 1 
 
Address Line 2 
 
Address Line 3 
 
Address City, State, Zip code 
 
Phone   
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Acknowledgements 
 
I am aware of Chapter 23-17.4 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended, and the standards, rules and 
regulations prescribed there under, which regulate the operation of this Residence. 
 
I acknowledge that authorized representative of the Licensing Agency shall, in conformity with the authority continued 
under Chapter 23-17.4 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, as amended, have the right to enter without prior notice to 
inspect the entire premises and services, including all records of any Residence/residence. 
 

 
Pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, any person 
applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other authority to conduct a business or 
occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes 
due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state 
taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 
 

 
FEIN Number: 
 
(Federal Employer 
Identification Number) 
 
Note:  If you are a sole 
proprietor this number 
may be your Social 
Security Number. Please provide below SSN/FEIN for this license: 

 
SSN/F.E.I.N. Number:            
 

 
Affidavit of 
Applicant 
 
Read, sign, and date 
this affidavit. 

 
AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE 

 

This Application Must be Signed 
 

I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them 
completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that 
my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish 
any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute 
cause for denial, suspension or revocation of this License in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to 
inform the Rhode Island Department of Health of any change in the answers to these 
questions after this application and this Affidavit is signed. 
 
I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns 
and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written installment 
agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
 
 
Signature of Authorized Person    Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 
 
 
 
Printed Name of Authorized Person  
 
 
 
 
Title of Authorized Person 
 
Furnishing the SSN and/or FEIN is mandatory.  The SSN and/or FEIN will be transmitted to 
the Rhode Island Division of Taxation pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island 
General Laws, as amended. 

 


	RI Department of Health
	Licensee Name:              
	AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE
	This Application Must be Signed




