- Vital Records
Simpson Hall, 6 Harrington Rd. Cranston, RI 02920
- 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM, Weekdays, Appointment Required
- Recorded Message 401-222-2811
State of Rhode Island
Department of Health
The Center for Vital Records (birth, death, marriage, and adoption certificates) is now open by appointment only at it's new location in Simpson Hall on the Pastore Campus (6 Harrington Rd., Cranston).
You can also request Vital Records at:
- City or town halls
- Certificates for births after 1960: any city/town hall
- Certificates for deaths in 2022: any city/town hall
- Certificates for deaths before 2022: city/town hall where death occurred
- Marriage certificates: city/town hall where ceremony occurred
- Online: health.ri.gov/records/about/copies
- By US mail: 6 Harrington Rd., Cranston 02920
- Drop box at Cranston or Providence office (Cranston drop box available May 2)
- By appointment (Call 401-222-2813).
Birth, death, and marriage records are vital records, and vital records are confidential. Only people with a direct and tangible interest in the records can get copies. Copies of your records can only be made for:
Firms, agencies, or individuals requesting information for commercial purposes are not considered to have direct and tangible interest. It is illegal to inspect or disclose information contained in vital records, to copy, or issue a copy of all or part of any vital record except as authorized above. moreAnyone who uses false statements to get a vital record may be fined up to $1,000, imprisoned for up to a year, or both. more
Vital Chek is a company that issues certified copies of records for births, deaths, or marriages that happened in Rhode Island. Vital Chek is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and can be reached at 888-388-1032.
Cost: $35 per record; There is an additional fee for rush orders.
Payment: debit card, credit card, or check.
Proof of Identification: Vital Chek will ask certain questions to verify a requestor's identity. If there is a question of identity, follow-up information will be required to be submitted.
Rhode Island Department of Health's (RIDOH) Center for Vital Records or any city or town clerk's office
Cost: $22 for the first copy, $18 for each extra copy purchased the same day To search for a record, one name and one record for two consecutive years is free. Each additional year to search is $2. Rush orders are an extra $7.
Payment: Cash, checks, or money orders are accepted at RIDOH's Center for Vital Records. Checks or money orders should be made out to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. Check with the city or town clerk's office to ask what payments they accept.
Identification You must provide a valid, government-issued photo identification to prove you are entitled to make the request. Acceptable documents include: driver's license, passport, military identification, certificate of naturalization, or alien registration card. If you do not have government-issued photo identification, you may submit two other documents that have your name and current address (utility bill, bank statement, car registration, copy of income tax return).
Cost: $25 for first copy; $18 for each extra copy purchased the same day
Payment: Check or money order only. Do not send cash.
Mail to: Center for Vital Records, Simpson Hall, 6 Harrington Rd. Cranston, RI 02920
Time to process: It takes eight to twelve weeks to process your request. Rush requests will be processed between five to seven business days.
Identification readable copy of identification as described for in person applications is required and will not be returned to you. If you submit an application or request without identification, it will not be processed and it will be returned to you.
If you do not sent an application form with your request for a certified copy of a vital record, you must include the following information with your request: