
Medical Marijuana Program | 3 Capitol Hill, Room 105A, Providence, RI 02908-5097 1
401-222-5960 | www.health.ri.gov/healthcare/medicalmarijuana/for/patients 

THE MEDICAL MARIJUANA PROGRAM

Requirements for Medical  
Marijuana Patients

The Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Act 
People who live in Rhode Island and have a debilitating medical condition may use  

marijuana if a medical doctor certifies in writing that:

 � Marijuana may ease their symptoms, and

 � Potential benefits of using marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks to 

the patient 

Registered patients may designate one caregiver and one authorized purchaser. 

To learn about authorized purchasers, go to www.health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.

php?id=280#ap.

The law requires caregivers and authorized purchasers to get a background check 

from the National Criminal Information Center (NCIC). Caregivers and authorized 

purchasers can be disqualified for felony convictions including, but not limited to, 

felony drug convictions.

Approved qualifying debilitating  
medical conditions
These are the only approved conditions:

 � Cancer or cancer treatment including chemotherapy, radiation, etc.

 � Glaucoma or glaucoma treatment

 � Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) or treatment for HIV

 � Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) or treatment for AIDS

 � Hepatitis C or treatment for Hepatitis C

 � Cachexia or wasting syndrome

 � Severe, debilitating, chronic pain

http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=280#ap
http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=280#ap
http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=280#ap
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� Severe nausea

� Seizures, including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy

� Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to

those characteristic of:

 � Multiple sclerosis

 � Crohn’s disease

� Agitation related to Alzheimer’s Disease

� Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) – patient must be 18 or older

Requirements for patients
Ask your doctor if your medical condition qualifies for an application and if medical 

marijuana makes sense for you.

1. Must live in Rhode Island and submit a copy of one proof of residency that includes your 
name and current address, such as:

� Rhode Island driver’s license

� State ID

� Current car insurance bill, voter registration or any correspondence  from another state agency

2. Must complete and sign a patient application form. Find the form at
www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaNewApplication.pdf.

3. Must have an MD, DO, PA, or APRN who is licensed to practice in Rhode Island fill out and 
sign a practitioner form.  In Massachusetts or Connecticut, only a licensed MD or DO can fill out 
and sign the practitioner form.  Find the form at
www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaPractitionerForm.pdf.

4. Must pay a $50 non-refundable patient application fee. There is no fee if your doctor 
states in writing that you qualify for hospice. The fee is $25 if you send proof with your 
application that you receive one of these benefits:

� Medicaid

� Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

� Social Security Disability Income (SSDI)

� Veterans disability

� Federal railroad disability 
You can get proof of your SSI or SSDI benefit at www.ssa.gov.

http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaNewApplication.pdf
http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaPractitionerForm.pdf
http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaPractitionerForm.pdf
http://www.ssa.gov
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5. Must state on the application whether you plan to grow medical
marijuana plants for yourself. Patients who will grow marijuana must
register their grow location with the Rhode Island Department of
Business Regulation.

6. Extra requirements for patients younger than 18 years old

� Must designate (name) a custodial parent or legal guardian as their primary 
caregiver or authorized purchaser

� Must complete, sign, and submit a minor application form with the above 
listed patient application form. Find the minor application form at

www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/

MedicalMarijuanaNewApplication.pdf. 

Growing marijuana
Patients who grow marijuana must buy plant tags from the Department of Business 

Regulation (DBR). All growers must follow DBR regulations for tag use. To read the 

rules, go to www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/medicalmarijuana.  

To learn more, go to www.health.ri.gov/healthcare/medicalmarijuana/for/patients. 
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