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THE MEDICAL MARIJUANA PROGRAM 

Requirements for Medical 
Marijuana Caregivers 

The Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Act 
People who live in Rhode Island and have a debilitating medical condition may use 

marijuana if a medical doctor certifies in writing that: 

� Marijuana may ease their symptoms, and

� The potential benefits of using medical marijuana would likely outweigh the

health risks to the patient

Registered patients may have one registered caregiver and one authorized purchaser. 

Registered caregivers 
Caregivers: 

� May grow marijuana or buy it from a compassion center for up to five patients

� Must register their grow location with the Rhode Island Department of Business 
Regulation

� Must receive certification for growing plants from the Department of Business 
Regulation (DBR)

� Must follow DBR regulations for plant tag use. To read the rules, go to

www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/medicalmarijuana.

� Must make sure the patient gets the medication the doctor recommends and no 
one else uses it

� May change their registration type if they do not grow marijuana and only 
provide patients with medical marijuana bought from compassion centers. They 
may change their caregiver registration to authorized purchaser. 
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Requirements for caregivers and 
authorized purchasers 
1. Must be 21 years old or older

2. Must live in Rhode Island and submit a copy of one item that proves you live in 
the state. The item must include your name and current address. Examples of 
items you can use are:

� Rhode Island driver’s license

� State ID

� Any correspondence from another state agency, current vehicle registration, car 
insurance bill or voter's registration.

3. Must get a copy of a National Criminal Information Center (NCIC) background 
check from a local police department, the Office of the Attorney General, or by 
appointment with the Rhode Island State Police (401-222-1110)

� The background check must include fingerprints.

� The law enforcement agency will send the background check results directly 
to RIDOH. 

� If you had a background check from the NCIC in the past two years, you can 
send a copy with your application.

� RIDOH will not review your application until RIDOH receives your 
background check results.

� Applicants can be disqualified for felony convictions including, but not 
limited to, felony drug convictions.

4. Must pay a $100 non-refundable caregiver application fee. The fee is $25 if you 
send proof with your application that you receive one of these benefits:

� Medicaid

� Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

� Social Security Disability Income (SSDI)

� Veterans disability

� Federal Railroad disability 

You can get proof of your SSI or SSDI benefit at www.ssa.gov. 

To learn more, go to www.health.ri.gov/healthcare/medicalmarijuana/for/patients. 
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