
Lead Certificate Cheat Sheet

Tenants in Rhode Island have a right to housing without lead hazards. However, this doesn’t mean that every house must be completely free of lead paint.
Instead, most rental housing units built before 1978 need to have a current lead certificate proving that they meet minimum lead safety standards or
higher, in accordance with the Lead Hazard Mitigation Act. Violations of this standard include chipping and peeling paint, bare soil within 5’ of a house,
and painted friction surfaces (wooden windows, rubbing doors, etc.).

Some types of units and properties may be exempt from lead certificate requirements, but they may still be required to be lead safe, and can still obtain a
lead certificate if the property owner chooses to do so.

It is important to know that most lead certificates are issued for a specific housing unit, not a whole house, and are valid for a set period of time – usually
2 years. The chart below provides a handy guide for determining whether a certificate is still valid, and indicates which are listed in the searchable,
statewide lead certificate database available to the public online at:

https://health.ri.gov/find/environmentallead/propertystatus/

The most common types of lead certificates in Rhode Island are the Certificate of Lead Conformance and Conditional Lead Safe Certificate. However,
there are variants of each, as defined in the chart below.

There are two types of lead inspections in Rhode Island. Both can be used to identify lead hazards in need of correction and/or after work is complete to
determine compliance, in order to issue a certificate:

● Lead Hazard Mitigation Inspection: Lead Hazard Mitigation Program inspection limited to a visual assessment of painted surfaces, within five feet
(5’) of a painted structure, or in a play area, and dust wipe sampling in the dwelling unit for the purpose of obtaining a Certificate of Lead
Conformance. Formerly known as Independent Clearance Inspection, but this name is outdated.

● Comprehensive Environmental Lead Inspection: surface-by-surface investigation to determine the presence of lead in paint, dust, soil, and water
in order to identify lead hazards or determine compliance with lead standards regulated by the Environmental Lead Program, for the purpose of
obtaining a Conditional or Full Lead Safe Certificate.

https://health.ri.gov/find/environmentallead/propertystatus/
Tenants in Rhode Island have a right to housing without lead hazards. However, this doesn’t mean that every house must be completely free of lead paint. Instead, most rental housing units built before 1978 need to have a current lead certificate proving that they meet minimum lead safety standards or higher, in accordance with the Lead Hazard Mitigation Act. Violations of this standard include chipping and peeling paint, bare soil within 5’ of a house, and painted friction surfaces (wooden windows, rubbing doors, etc.).

Some types of units and properties may be exempt from the Lead Hazard Mitigation Act, but they may still be required to get or have a lead certificate for other reasons, (e.g. insurance purposes, certain foster home requirements). Any property owner can obtain a lead certificate if they choose to do so.

It is important to know that most lead certificates are issued for a specific housing unit, not a whole house, and are valid for a set period of time – usually 2 years. The chart below summarizes the differences between lead certificate types and indicates which are listed in the searchable, statewide lead certificate database available to the public online at:
 

The most common types of lead certificates in Rhode Island are the Certificate of Lead Conformance and Conditional Lead Safe Certificate. However, there are variants of each, as noted in the chart below.

The following inspections can be performed by a licensed lead inspector before any work is done to identify lead hazards in need of correction and/or after work is complete to determine compliance, in order to issue a certificate:

● Lead Hazard Mitigation Inspection: This inspection is limited to a visual assessment of painted surfaces and soil within five feet (5’) of a painted structure or in a play area; and dust wipe sampling in the dwelling unit for the purpose of obtaining a Certificate of Lead Conformance. Formerly known as Independent Clearance Inspection, but this name is outdated.
● Comprehensive Environmental Lead Inspection: surface-by-surface investigation to determine the presence of lead in paint, dust, soil, and water in order to identify lead hazards or determine compliance with lead standards regulated by the RIDOH Environmental Lead Program, for the purpose of obtaining a Conditional or Full Lead Safe Certificate.




Lead Certificate
Type

Inspection Type Required/available for Valid for Renewal In online
database?

Certificate of Lead
Conformance (CLC)
Interior/Exterior

formerly Certificate of
Conformance

Lead Hazard Mitigation
Inspection

formerly Independent
Clearance Inspection

Required for most pre-1978 rental
units.

Exempt: 2-3 family owner-occupied,
temporary housing, elder-zoned
housing

Available for any residential property.

2 years No change in tenant: Affidavit of Completion
of Visual Inspection before CLC expiration date

Change in tenant: repeat initial certification
process

Yes

CLC Interior Only Lead Hazard Mitigation
Inspection

Pre-1978 units, during winter months
only (Nov.-May)

A few
months; 2 yrs
w/ CLC Ext.
Previous Int.

Not renewable - must obtain CLC Ext. Previous
Int. by either following June 30th or after no
more than or 30 days, whichever comes later,
and obtain CLC Int./Ext. 2 years after CLC Int.
Only issue date.

Yes

CLC Exterior
Previous Interior

Lead Hazard Mitigation
Inspection

Units that have obtained CLC Int. Only
within past Nov.-May period

2 years from
date of CLC
Int. Only

Not renewable - must obtain CLC Int./Ext. 2
years after CLC Int. Only issue date.

Yes

Affidavit of
Completion of
Visual Inspection

Visual inspection by
property owner or
designated agent - form
must be notarized

Pre-1978 rental units that have a CLC
that has not yet expired and have had
no change in tenants

2 years No change in tenant: complete another
Affidavit of Completion of Visual Inspection
before the 2 year period is up

Change in tenant: repeat initial CLC process

No

Certificate of
Presumptive
Compliance

Lead Hazard Mitigation
Inspection in at least 5%,
no fewer than 2 units

10+ units built between 1960 and 1978
owned by same owner.

1 year Reinspection in different 5% of units.
Eventually, all units should be inspected. All are
expected to be lead safe.

No

Conditional Lead
Safe Certificate
formerly Lead Safe Cert

Comprehensive
Environmental Lead
Inspection

Required for properties with RIDOH
violations.

Available for any pre-1978 property.

2 years Repeat initial certification process. Yes

Interior Conditional
Lead Safe
Certificate

Comprehensive
Environmental Lead
Inspection

Pre-1978 units, during winter months
only (Nov.-May)

A few
months

Not renewable - exterior and/or soil hazards
must be corrected no later than following June
30, to obtain Conditional Lead Safe Certificate

Yes

Full Lead Safe
Certificate
formerly Lead Free Cert

Comprehensive
Environmental Lead
Inspection

Available for any property shown to
meet certain high lead safe thresholds
for paint, dust, soil, and water

Permanent N/A Yes
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