Frequently Asked Questions














Web Pages



Licensing-Related Information

How to Get Licensed

Effective 01/19/2018 Rhode Island is no longer part of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC)

Renewal notices are sent out 60 days before your expiration date. Renew Online

If you have never been licensed, apply. Make sure that you have completed the requirements and submit all the necessary paperwork. more

Continuing Education/Training

Nurses seeking to renew a nursing license must complete 10 continuing education hours during every two year licensing cycle, two of those hours must be about substance abuse.

Continuing education courses must be approved by the Rhode Island Board of Registration and Nursing Education. Approved training includes: courses approved by the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, other recognized professional nursing organizations, any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing; or such other professional, labor organization, or accrediting agency approved by the Board. At renewal, nurses must sign a statement attesting to completion of the continuing education requirements.

A six-month extension for the continuing education requirement may be granted by the Board if the nurse has suffered a hardship. Documentation of course completions should be retained for four years.

Required Alzheimer's Disease Training

Effective August 1, 2019, every nurse has to complete one hour (per career) of CEU training regarding Alzheimer’s disease. RI Law

National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) Annual Pass Rates

The NCLEX is a national licensure examination that graduates take in order to become registered as a licensed practical nurse or a registered nurse. The NCLEX pass rate is the percentage of graduates who successfully passed the examination for the first time over the number of graduates who applied to take the examination. The Board of Nursing evaluates the nursing programs based on the annual pass rates of the nursing program. The data is collected from January 1 to December 31.

  2015-2016 2016-2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Licensed Practical Nurse            
CCRI 92.31% 90.00% 90.63% 90.00 % 83.02% 95.38%
Lincoln Technical Institute 92.31% 81.51% 84.09% 86.36% 81.66% 71.92%
Registered Nurse           
CCRI 86.18%82.27% 89.22% 84.58% 82.52% 86.63%
New England Institute of Technology 88.00% 100.00% 94.87% 93.02% 83.19% 80.18%
Rhode Island College 93.20% 96.27% 97.69% 98.39% 96.15% 90.41%
Salve Regina 85.07% 84.06% 87.14% 85.14% 95.52% 79.69%
St. Joseph's School of Nursing 96.30% 94.94% 75.29% closed 7/2019    
University of Rhode Island 78.21% 90.78% 89.31% 91.48% 90.29% 85.89%

Professional Resources


Screen all patients and caregivers.

  • Check a patient’s electronic health record (EHR) and ask the patient about previous naloxone use.
  • Check Rhode Island’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) for clinical alerts and evidence of high-dose opioids (i.e., more than 50 oral Morphine Milligram Equivalents (MMEs) per day), long-acting opioid use, or opioid use for longer than 90 days.
  • Screen all patients for a history or diagnosis of Substance Use Disorder (SUD), Alcohol Use Disorder (AUD), mental health conditions, respiratory or neurologic conditions that affect breathing, harmful use or misuse of opioids, and/or opioid overdose.
  • Screen patients for use of Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) to treat OUD.
  • Screen all patients to identify use of opioids in combination with benzodiazepines, alcohol, anti-depressants, and/or sedatives.

Educate yourself, patients, and staff.

  • Ask caregivers if they feel comfortable administering naloxone during an overdose in case a friend or loved one is experiencing a bad reaction to an opioid.
  • Tell patients who are taking opioids about the potential for bad reactions that make breathing slow down or stop, leading to an overdose.
  • Emphasize to patients that naloxone is an antidote and can save a life, just like a seatbelt or fire extinguisher.
  • Tell patients and caregivers about what to expect after giving someone naloxone.
  • Include a conversation about the importance of having naloxone on-hand as a standard part of opioid safety messages.
  • Ensure all office staff know where to locate and how to use naloxone in case of an overdose.
  • Review the signs and symptoms of opioid overdose and the legal protections under Rhode Island’s Good Samaritan Law.
  • Sign and display these pledges on opioid safety.
  • Print, hang, and distribute educational materials about naloxone.

Promote increased access to naloxone.

  • Join the US Surgeon General and be a role model. Purchase and carry naloxone. Incorporate naloxone co-prescribing in EHRs, office protocols, and electronic prescribing systems.
  • Co-prescribe naloxone to patients who are currently being prescribed syringes and needles.
  • Stock naloxone in the office for emergency use and for direct dispensing to patients.
  • Remind patients and staff that pharmacists can dispense naloxone and bill insurance companies without a prescription from a healthcare provider.
  • If cost is a barrier for patients, help them enroll in a health insurance plan.

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

Register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) . Check the PDMP each time you dispense/prescribe a controlled substance to help prevent fraudulent prescriptions from being filled. This will also help identify suspected pharmacy/doctor "shopping." More

Contact us for PDMP support.

Safe Opioid Prescribing

Board Information