FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	***FOR OFFICE USE ONLY***
	Application Approved:
Social Worker Checklist	License Number:
☐ Endorsement ☐ Examination ☐ App. & Fee	Issue Date:
□ Date: Check □ Photo ID □ Transcript	Approved for ASWB
☐ Exam Results from ASWB (For LICSW Only) ☐ Lic. Verification from other States ☐ Supervised Practice Forms (LICSW)	Signature of Board Administrator
CO PETOLO	
	Board Member Signatures ID#:
Phodo Ioland	Receipt #:
Rhode Island	
Board of Social Work Ex Room 104 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-509	
Instructions and Applica	ation For
License As A	
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)	
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LIC	SW) - (Clinical Exam)
□ Endorsement	
☐ Examination	
MILITARY STATUS ELIGIBILITY	(Documentation Required)
Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedited appl	see next page for instructions
I am in active military duty or a reservist	iodion.
I am a military veteran with honorable discharge	
I am the spouse of someone in active military duty or the	spouse of a reservist
Applicant - Print Name	

Phone: (401) 222-2828 TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555 Fax: (401) 222-1272

FIRST NAME

LAST NAME

MI

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Completed Application with Cover Page - Applications are valid for 1 year from the day they are received at RIDOH. If you are not licensed within the year you must submit a new application.								
Check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the RI General Treasurer in the amount of \$70.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application. THIS APPLICATION FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE.								
Copy of Valid ID, (example Driver's license or state issued ID)								
Official transcript from an accredited School of Social Work submitted by the college/school/university, directly to the Board. Transcript must include date of completion, graduation date and degree. No student copies will be accepted.								
If you are applying for Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) Only - Exam Score/Certification sent directly from the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) (Telephone 1-888-579-3926) (NOTE: Successful completion of the ASWB examination IS required to obtain a license to practice as an independent social worker in the state of Rhode Island).								
It is important to note that, per Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 5-39.1-8, License Procedure for Social Workers, there is NO exam required for a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) license until at least August 15, 2025.								
If you are applying for LICSW Only - Completed Supervised Practice Form included with this application to be used for that purpose must be submitted directly to the Board in sealed envelope								
If you have ever been licensed in another state, license verification(s) must be sent directly from the state(s) in which you hold or have held a license. (Interstate Verification Form included in this application can be used for that purpose) The Verification Form from the State of original licensure must include test scores for independent clinical social worker only, of the ASWB examination (or test scores may be sent directly from ASWB). If test scores are provided, you do not need to contact the ASWB to request the test scores. In addition to test scores, if the Supervised Practice Prerequisite is provided by the Endorsement State(s), then you are not required to submit the Supervised Practice Forms.								
If applying for expedited military status, please complete the Military Expedition Form at the end of this application packet.								
Licensure Information								
Please visit the RIDOH website at http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses to Verify your license, download Rules and Regualtions/Laws for your profession, download change of address forms, other licensing forms or obtain our contact information. HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the expense of others.								
e Certificates								
will be providing wallet license cards ONLY on issuance of licenses. If you wish to receive a license certificate, suitable for please check the box below and attach a separate check in the amount of \$30.00 made payable to RI General Treasurer.								
would like to receive a license certificate. I have enclosed a separate check in the amount of \$30.00								



State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations Board of Social Work Examiners

Application for License as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker or Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens. 1. Name(s) Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.) This is the name that will be printed on your License/Permit/Certificate and reported First Name to those who inquire about your License/ Middle Name Permit/Certificate. Do not use nicknames, etc. NOTE: Surname, (Last Name) It is your responsibility to notify the Department of Health Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III) Board of any name changes. Maiden Name, if applicable Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last). 2. Social Security "Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and paid all Number U.S. Social Security Number taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State." 3. Gender Male Female 4. Date of Birth 5. Home 1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.) **Address** It is your responsibility to notify the board of all 2nd Line Address (Number and Street) address changes. No professional City State Zip Code licensee's address (residence or business/ employment) will Country, If NOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S be posted on the Department's Web site. Home Phone Home Fax Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com) 6. Business Name of Business/Work Location **Address** (ONLY if it is 1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.) **RELATED** to your license.) Second Line Address (Number and Street) It is your responsibility to notify the board of all State address changes. City Zip Code This address will Postal Code, If NOT U.S. Country, If NOT U.S appear on the Department of Health web site. **Business Phone** Extension **Business Fax**

Applicant: Print your complete last name >

7. Preferred Mailing Address Please check <u>ONE</u>	Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address NOTE: The preferred mailing address that you indicate is the address that will be released for all requests for that information.
8. Qualifying Education Please list the name and information about the school that you attended that qualifies you for this license.	Type of School (University, College, Technical School, etc.) Name of School Date Graduated Month Year Is School Accredited by the Council of S.W. Education? Yes No Doctorate in Social Work
9. Other State License(s) Please answer the question and list state(s), if applicable	Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? Yes No If the answer to this question is "yes", enter all other state licenses in Question 10 (below):
List all states or countries in which you are now, or ever have been licensed to practice your profession*. IMPORTANT You must also indicate the Type and Level of Licensure in each of the states that you are licensed.	State/Country: Clinical Intermediate/Masters Active Inactive Clinical Intermediate/Masters

11.	Criminal Convictions Respond to the question at the top of the section, then list any criminal conviction(s) in the space provided. If necessary, you may continue on a separate 8½ x 11 sheet of paper.	Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or are any formal charges pending? Abbreviation of State and Conviction¹ (e.g. CA - Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):	Month	Year	No				
12.	Disciplinary Questions Check either Yes or No for each question.	Has any Health Professional license, certificate, registration, or permit you hold or have held, been disciplined or are any formal charges pending? Have you ever been denied a license, certificate, registration or permit in any state?	Yes Yes		No No				
		Note: If you answer "Yes" to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including data disposition of the matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, on a separate sheet of paper.	ate, place, rea	ison an	ıd				
	Affidavit of Applicant Complete this section and sign. Make sure that you have completed all components accurately and completely.	, being first duly sworn, depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker/Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the State of Rhode Island. I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode Island Board of Social Work Examiners of any change in the answers to these questions after this application and this affidavit is signed.							
		Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/	YY)						





Room 104, 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-5097

(401) 222-2828

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S) (One form for each state)

I am applying for a license to practice as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker/Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Board of Social Work Examiners requires that the following form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which I hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Board of Social Work Examiners at the above address. Print/Type Full Name Signature Date Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth License Number Date Issued THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SOCIAL WORK BOARD Directions for State Board: Please complete and return this form to the address above with copies of any verification of supervision received* after the applicant received their MSW. Please verify requirements met in your state: MSW from CSWE Accredited School? Licensed by Examination? If not by examination, how was license obtained? Yes No (State) Other Yes No Endorsement (Explain) Applicant has completed and passed the National Certification Exam: icense Status: Original Date Issued: **Expiration Date:** Yes No Score_ Level of Exam: Active Inactive Lapsed *Two years post-MSW supervised experience? Yes No If YES, please indicate the total number of required post-MSW supervised hours: Questions: 1. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board? ☐ Yes ☐ No 2. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? Yes □ No 3. Has the applicant's license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed ☐ Yes ☐ No on probation? 4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? ☐ Yes ☐ No If you answer "Yes" to questions 1-4, please provide a written explanation below, and attach a copy of all supporting documentation (e.g., Board order, complaint, etc.). Certification: Signature Date Type or Print Name Please Affix **Board Seal Here** Title Full Name of Licensing Board Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.

Substitute forms are not acceptable, Copy this form as needed.



Rhode Island Board of Social Work Examiners

Room 104, 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-5097 (401) 222-2828

SECTION I - SUPERVISED PRACTICE FORM - CERTIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE The individual named below is applying for certification as a Licensed Independent Social Worker in the State of Rhode Island. Prior to certifying the ap-

plicant, it is necessary to verify I and is requesting that you co													
Print/Type Full Name						ture			Date				
Previous Names Used					Social Security Number						Date of Birth		
Dates of Clinical Experience under supervision													
of the practitioner completing Secti		lonth	Day	Year	_ TO: 	/Jonth	Day	Year	Number of Hours	 s Nun	nber of Direct Client		
Description of Applicant's Primary Responsibilities and position:									Worked per Wee	ek Con	tact Hours per Week		
minimum level of supervised cl supervisors. It is the responsib the back flap (seal) and mail in EXPERIENCE REQUIREMEN which must be met prior to app Experience is defined as three month period of time immediate clinical social work services dir and values in the diagnosis, as emotional conditions. Clinical sentered advocacy; consultatic preceding the date of the application of the second client; and being evaluated to each client; and each client evaluated to each client evaluated t	linical experience recipility of the applicant one packet to the RTS FOR LICSW: Clolication for the Indepthousand (3,000) holely preceding the darectly to clients. Clinically the control work services on and supervision. Cation for licensure (to-face contact with a ceatment of each clienated by the supervision ever of supervision per to-pervision) contact with a certain control contro	quired if to gath the	for Lice ner all fo sland B 5-39.1 at Clinic post-m pplicatic cial wor of cogni nclude p The e R MINII sed inde eiving or (2) wee (20) hou supervise parenti	onsure, forms consumer consumers consumer consum	the appompleted f Social General al Work practice LICSW. tice is defective a therapy once mus 6 YEAR ent social at and guilirect coreast several feathers.	Laws License of cli One the fined and cost occur MAXII al work ntact we enty-fire	must of upervise Examir of the See. The incal so nousar as the naviora bunseling DURI MUM). er (LIC e from with clies of the clies of	omplete Sors in sea ners. State of Rese required a circle work and five hur profession and disordering for indiving A 24-CSW) for the supersents.	hode Island establements became eduring a twenty-foddred (1,500) hournal application of searising from phyviduals, couples, for MONTH PERIOD to the purpose of applyisor in the deliver	orm forwa h supervi lishes ex ffective c our (24) to social wo sical, envi amilies, DD of tim	perience requirements on July 1, 1994. o seventy-two (72) onsist of providing rk theories, methods, vironmental, or and groups; cliente immediately		
SECTI	ON II - THIS	SEC	CTIO	N T	O BE	CO	MPL	.ETED	BY SUPER	RVISC	OR		
Instructions to supervisor: requests that the supervisor of form in an envelope and seal in his/her application packet.	carefully review the a	ipplicar across t	nt's stat the sea	ements I. Retu	s under s urn to ap	Sectio oplican	n I prio	r to respo licant has	nding to Items in S been instructed to	Section II	. Insert completed		
Supervisor's Professional Degree, Discipline and								Ag	ency		State		
License Information:	Describe the nature of the Supervision:												
Degree:													
Discipline:													
License Level:	Length and frequency of Supervision:												
License #:	Certification: I hereby attest the above information in Section II is correct, to the best of my knowledge.												
License State:	Signature								Date				
Type or Print Name													
Supervisor's Address:													



Rhode Island Department of Health Military Expedition Form

Please attach this form to the *front* of your completed application and mail to the address shown on the application cover.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § <u>5-88-1</u> et seq., upon application, this state may recognize occupational licenses, certificates or permits obtained from other states for military members and their spouses who relocate to this state pursuant to military orders. The Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) will expedite your or your spouse's health professional license application provided the following conditions are met.

I. PROFESSION/LICENSE TYPE

Please indicate the profession and/or license type you are applying for so that your application can be routed to the correct office:

Profession/License Type:

II. MILITARY STATUS

Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedition:

I am in active military duty or a reservist.

I am the spouse of someone in active military duty or the spouse of a reservist.

I am a military veteran with honorable discharge. You do not need to complete the rest of this application – please skip to the signature line.

III. PROOF OF MILITARY STATUS

Please attach a copy of proof of your military status such as one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES), Letter from Command, or Copy of Orders

IV. MILITARY CHANGE OF STATION ORDER

Permanent Change of Station Order

V. PROOF OF GOOD STANDING

Proof of good standing from the board in the other state in which the person has a license.

VI. Criminal Background Check (a "BCI") (unless required in the initial license application) BCI completed from the RI Attorney General's Office.

VII. ATTESTATIONS:

Check all that apply:

No board in any other state has revoked the license for which I am applying as a result of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I have never surrendered an occupational license, certificate, or permit because of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I do not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation currently pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime.

I attest that the above responses and information are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and that none of the information set forth above is false, erroneous, or defective in any important, as set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-18-1. I understand that this application is being made to the Rhode Island Department of Health, which shall rely upon my attestation and the information provided in this document.

Signature of Applicant

Date