

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Application Approved:
License Number:
Issue Date:
Signature of Board Administrator
ID#:
Receipt #:

Endorsement

Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants

Room 205 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-5097

Instructions and Application For License As A

Physician Assistant by

Examination

MILITARY STATUS ELIGIB		entation Required) e 2 for instructions
Please check ONE of the following	. •	
I am in active military duty or a	reservist	
I am a military veteran with hor	norable discharge	
I am the spouse of someone in	active military duty or the spous	e of a reservist
Ap_{p}	plicant - Print Name	
Ap	plicant - Print Name	
App	plicant - Print Name	

Phone: (401) 222-3855 TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555 Fax: (401) 222-2158

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS Completed Application with Cover Page - Applications are valid for 1 year from the day they are received at RIDOH. If you are not licensed within the year you must submit a new application. Check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the RI General Treasurer in the amount of \$110.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application. THIS APPLICATION FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE. Please be advised that this is an application fee and includes the first license only up until the next expiration date. All licenses expire June 30th of the odd numbered years. Official transcript from an accredited School of Physician Assistants submitted by the college/school/university, directly to the Board. Transcript must include date of completion, graduation date and degree OR Verified Credentials by the Federation of Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) through the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). (FCVS Telephone 1-888-275-3287 or website at http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs Score/Certification sent directly from the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) **OR** Verified Credentials by the Federation of Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) through the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). (FCVS Telephone 1-888-275-3287 or website at http://www.fsmb.org/fcvs Submit a "self-query" of the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). The application is a Practitioner Request for Information Disclosure, which can be obtained by calling the NPDB, or downloading it from the NPDB web site. You must mail this completed form directly to NPDB. When you receive a response, send the Department the ORIGINAL, UNOPENED response. The Board must have this response in order to complete your application so you are encouraged to make this request as soon as possible. (FCVS Telephone 1-888-767-6732 or website at http://www.npdb-hipdb.com If you have ever been licensed in another state, license verification(s) must be sent directly from the state(s) in which you hold or have held a license. (Interstate Verification Form included in this application can be used for that purpose) If applying for expedited military status, please complete the Military Expedition Form at the end of this application packet. Rhode Island Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) Completed Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act Registration Form (CSR) enclosed in this application to be used for that purpose. Check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the RI General Treasurer in the amount of **\$200.00** In order to dispense, prescribe, store, or order controlled substances, you must obtain a Rhode Island Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) and a Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration. After you obtain your Rhode Island CSR you must apply for a federal DEA Number. That DEA number must be registered to a RI Business Address. An application for the federal DEA Number can be obtained by contacting DEA: DEA Phone Number (617) 557-2200. Web Site: http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drugreg/reg_apps/ <u>Licensure Information</u> Please visit the RIDOH website at http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses to Verify your license, download Rules and Regualtions/Laws for your profession, download change of address forms, other licensing forms or obtain our contact information. HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the ex pense of others.

L

<u>License Certificates</u>
RIDOH will be providing wallet license cards ONLY on issuance of licenses. If you wish to receive a license certificate, suitable for framing, please check the box below and attach a separate check in the amount of \$30.00 made payable to RI General Treasurer.
I would like to receive a license certificate. I have enclosed a separate check in the amount of \$30.00
NOTE: ALL physician assistant applicants must have a supervising physician who oversees the activities of.

and accepts the responsibility for, the medical services rendered by the physician assistant.



State of Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants

Application for License as a Physician Assistant

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens. 1. Name(s) Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.) This is the name that will be printed on your License/Permit/Certificate and reported First Name to those who inquire about your License/ Middle Name Permit/Certificate. Do not use nicknames, etc. Surname, (Last Name) Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III) Maiden, if applicable Name(s) under which originally licensed in another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last). "Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and paid all 2. Social Security taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the Divison of Taxation to Number U.S. Social Security Number verify that no taxes are owed to the State." 3. Gender Please select from the dropdown. 4. Date of Birth Dav 5. Home 1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.) **Address** It is your responsibility to notify the board of all Second Line Address (Number and Street) address changes. City State Zip Code Country, If NOT U.S Postal Code, If NOT U.S. Home Phone Home Fax Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com) 6. Business Name of Business/Work Location **Address** (ONLY if it is **RELATED** to 1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.) your license.) Second Line Address (Number and Street) It is your responsibility to notify the board of all address changes. City State Zip Code This address will Country, If NOT U.S Postal Code, If NOT U.S appear on the Department of Health web site. Extension **Business Phone Business Fax**

Applicant: Print your complete last name > 7. Preferred Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address Mailing **Address** Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address Please check ONE 8. Qualifying Education Type of School (University, College, Technical School, etc.) Please list the name and information about the school that you attended that qualifies Name of School you for this license. Date Graduated: Degree Received (Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science, Diploma, etc.) 9. Other State Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? No License(s) Please answer the question and list state(s), if applicable If the answer to this question is "yes", enter all other state licenses in Question 10 (below): 10. Licensure State/Country: State/Country: List all states or ☐ Inactive ☐ Inactive countries in which you are now, or ever ☐ Active Inactive ☐ Inactive have been licensed to practice your profession. Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive _ Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive Active Inactive Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive Active ☐ Inactive ☐ Active Inactive Active ☐ Inactive _ Active Inactive _ Active ☐ Inactive DOCUMENTATION NEEDED FOR ENDORSEMENT APPLICANTS: YOU must send an "Interstate Verification Form" to each state in which you are, or ever have been, licensed (Make copies as needed) (See page 7).

Applicant: Print your complete last name >

11. Criminal Convictions Respond to the question at the top of the section, then list any criminal conviction(s) in the space provided. If necessary, you may continue on a separate 8½ x 11 sheet of paper.	Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or are any formal charges pending? Abbreviation of State and Conviction¹ (e.g. CA - Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):	Month	Year	No
12. Disciplinary Questions Check either Yes or No for each question. NOTE: If you answer "Yes" to any question, you are required	 During any Professional/Medical Education, were you ever dismissed, suspended, restricted, put on probation, or otherwise acted against or did you take a leave of absence for medical reasons? During any Professional/Medical Education, were you ever requested to leave or did you leave, temporarily or permanently, prior to completion of training? During any training, were you ever dismissed, suspended, restricted, put on probation or otherwise acted against or did you take a leave of absence for medical reasons? 	Yes Yes		No No
to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason and disposition of the matter.	During any training, were you ever requested to leave or did you leave, temporarily or permanently, prior to completion of training?	Yes		No
	 Are there any charges or investigations pending, in any state, against you? Have your staff privileges at any hospital, nursing home, or other health care facility or health care provider or HMO ever been reduced, revoked, or suspended or have you voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges from any such unit or facility while unde investigation in any state? Have you ever had any disciplinary action(s) taken, or is any pending, against your License to practice medicine, DEA Permit, State Controlled Substances Registration, Medicare Privileges, Medicaid Privileges, or are any complaints pending in any state? Have you ever had a membership in a professional society revoked, suspended, or limited in any manner or have you voluntarily withdrawn while under investigation? Have you ever failed to pass an examination for licensure? Note: If you answer "Yes" to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including da disposition of the matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, on a separate sheet of paper.	Yes Yes Yes Yes	ason a	No No No No No
	,			

13.	Affidavit of
	Applicant

Complete this section and sign.

Make sure that you have completed all components accurately and completely.

I,, being referred to in the foregoing application and supporting	first duly sworn, depose and say that I am the person documents.
I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing appreservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any fasuch act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension Assistant in the State of Rhode Island.	of perjury that my answers and all statements made by alse information in this application, I hereby agree that
I understand that this is a continuing application and the Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants of any changition and this affidavit is signed.	•
Signature of Applicant	Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed.



Rhode Island Board of Licensure of Physician Assistants

Room 205, 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-5097 (401) 222-3855

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S)

I am applying for a license to practice as a Physician Assistal requires that the following form be completed by the jurisdic information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the	tion(s) ir	n which I hold or have held a license. Th	nis constitutes	authori	ty for y	you to release a	
Print/Type Full Name		Signature			Da	ate	
Previous Names Used		Social Security Number			Date of Birth		
License Number Date Issued							
THIS SECTION TO BE COMPL Physician Assistant Program Completed:	ETE	D BY THE PHYSICIAN A	SSISTAI Graduation		OA	RD	
Licensed by Examination?	Applica	int has completed and passed the NCCPA Exam:					
License Status: Active Inactive Lapsed		Original Date Issued:	Expiration I	Date:			
Questions: 1. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board?				Yes		No	
2. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings i	in your s	state, or is any action pending?		Yes		No	
3. Has the applicant's license ever been denied, surrendere on probation?	ed, reprir	manded, suspended, revoked or placed		Yes		No	
4. Do you know of any information that may discredit this pe	erson?			Yes		No	
If you answer "Yes" to questions 1-4, please provide a writte complaint, etc.).	en expla	nation below, and attach a copy of all su	ipporting docu	mentat	ion (e.	g., Board order,	
Certification:							
Signature		Date			••••••		
Type or Print Name		_	– Please Affix Board Seal Here				
Title			_				
Full Name of Licensing Board Please return directly to the B	Board a	nt the above address. Thank you for		coone	eratior	1.	



RHODE ISLAND UNIFORM CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT REGISTRATION (CSR)

NEW APPLICATION
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP
CHANGE OF LOCATION

** FOR OFFICE USE ONLY **
RECEIPT #
ID#
ISSUE DATE
LICENSE #

- 1) PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN UPPERCASE
- 2) DO NOT SEND CASH MAIL CHECK OR MONEY ORDER, PAYABLE TO: RI GENERAL TREASURER
- 3) PRACTITIONER FEE \$200.00 FACILITY FEE \$100.00
- 4) RETURN ENTIRE APPLICATION TO:

RI BOARD OF PHARMACY ROOM 103 3 CAPITOL HILL PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5097

3 CAPITOL HILL PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5097	
REGISTRANT NAME AND BUSINESS LOCATION ONLY:	
FULL NAME	
BUSINESS ADDRESS	
TELEPHONE NUMBER CURRENT STATE LICENSE OR CERTIFICATION NUMBER	
E-MAIL ADDRESS - (THIS WILL BE USED FOR REGISTRATION TO THE RHODE ISLAND PRESCRIPTION MONITORING PROGRAM)	
Complete the following information to apply for a registration to prescribe, dispense, store or ship controlled substances in or into State of Rhode Island. A CSR is not required if there will be no controlled substances prescriptions prescribed, dispensed, stored shipped in or into this state. The CSR is renewed at the same time as the professional or facility license is renewed. NOTE: Plear read important information on the next page.	or
REGISTRATION CLASSIFICATION: BUSINESS ACTIVITY (CHECK ONE ONLY):	
A. () COMMUNITY PHARMACY B. () PRACTITIONER C. () MANUFACTURER/DISTRIBUTOR D. () RESEARCHER	
E. () MEDICAL INSTITUTION/CLINICF. () TEACHING INSTITUTION G. () NTP PROGRAM H. () ANALYTICAL LAI	3
DRUG SCHEDULE - Check all that apply (Non-practitioners only)	
1. () SCHEDULE I 2. () SCHEDULE II 3. () SCHEDULE III 4. () SCHEDULE IV 5. () SCHEDULE V DRUG ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATION (DEA) REGISTRATION Provide DEA number if one has been issued, or check "pending" if an application is being made for the DEA Registration. A copy	y of
the DEA Registration must be provided to the BOARD within 60 days of its issuance by the DEA.	
PENDING DEA NUMBER	
ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING:	
A. Has the applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a violation of any state or federal law relative to manufacturing, distributing, possessing, prescribing, administering or dispensing of drugs presently defined as controlled substances under Chapter 21-28, General Laws of Rhode Island? Yes No	ng
B. Has the registration application or registration of the applicant, corporation, firm, partner, or officer of the applicant been surrendered, revoked, suspended or denied under any law of the United States or of any state relating to drugs present defined as controlled substances under Chapter 21-28 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, or is such action pending? Yes No	ly
IF "A" OR "B" IS ANSWERED IN THE AFFIRMATIVE, ATTACH LETTER SETTING FORTH CIRCUMSTANCES	3
DATE SIGNATURE OR APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED INDIVIDUAL OFFICIAL TITLE	

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Licensed drug facilities and licensed practitioners with prescriptive privileges cannot dispense, possess, store or ship controlled substances in or into the State of Rhode Island without a valid drug facility or professional license, Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration (CSR), and a federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration. Practitioners may only dispense, possess, and store controlled substances within their particular "scope of practice". "Controlled Substances", for purposes of this application, means a prescription drug in Schedules II through V, pursuant to the Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act, and 21 CFR 1300 of the Federal Code of Regulations. Schedule I drugs are used by researchers, and require the submission of a protocol.

Without a Rhode Island CSR and federal DEA Registration, licensed drug facilities and practitioners with prescriptive privileges may dispense or possess non=controlled prescription medications under its facility or professional license. A CSR will not be granted to an applicant whose BOARD licensure application is "pending" in this state.

A Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration must be obtained prior to applying for the DEA Registration. Federal regulations require that applicants comply with individual state requirements prior to issuance of a DEA Registration. Once the CSR is issued, applicants must apply to the US Drug Enforcement Administration for a federal registration using that agency's DEA Form 224 (New application for Retail Pharmacy, Hospital/Clinic, Practitioner, Teaching Institution, or Mid-Level Practitioner). Applicants may apply online for the DEA Registration at the following web site:

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drugreg/reg_apps/index.html

or by contacting the Drug Enforcement Administration at the following location:

Registration Unit
US Drug Enforcement Administration
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street
Boston, MA 02203-0131

Call the Drug Enforcement Administration to check 88 12 50 to a pending DEA Registration. A copy of the DEA Registration must be provided to the BOARD within 60 days of its issuance by the DEA.

PLEASE NOTE: Prescriptions in Schedules III, IV, and V cannot be written for more than one hundred (100) dosage units. A "dosage unit" is defined as a single capsule, tablet or suppository, or not more than one (1) teaspoon or an oral liquid. Prescriptions in Schedule II may be written for up to a 30-day supply, with a maximum of two hundred fifty (250) dosage units, as determined by the prescriber's directions for us of the medication.

The Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act can be accessed at the following website:

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Title21/21-28/index.htm

*** Rhode Island Prescription Monitoring Program - (RIPMP) ***

The RIPMP is a database that allows you to view patient's prescription history prior to your writing a prescription for them.

Once your RI Controlled Substances Registration is issued we will email a user id and temporary password to the email address that you provided on the CSR form. RI Law requires that all prescribers of controlled substances be registered with the RIPMP. It is important to make sure your email address is current with the Department.

It is the Department's expectation that you utilize this valuable tool that not only protects you as a prescriber but more importantly protects your patients.

Please visit our website for more information about the program and expectations.

http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/prescriptionmonitoring/



Rhode Island Department of Health Military Expedition Form

Please attach this form to the *front* of your completed application and mail to the address shown on the application cover.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § <u>5-88-1</u> et seq., upon application, this state may recognize occupational licenses, certificates or permits obtained from other states for military members and their spouses who relocate to this state pursuant to military orders. The Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) will expedite your or your spouse's health professional license application provided the following conditions are met.

I. PROFESSION/LICENSE TYPE

Please indicate the profession and/or license type you are applying for so that your application can be routed to the correct office:

Profession/License Type:

II. MILITARY STATUS

Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedition:

I am in active military duty or a reservist.

I am the spouse of someone in active military duty or the spouse of a reservist.

I am a military veteran with honorable discharge. You do not need to complete the rest of this application – please skip to the signature line.

III. PROOF OF MILITARY STATUS

Please attach a copy of proof of your military status such as one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES), Letter from Command, or Copy of Orders

IV. MILITARY CHANGE OF STATION ORDER

Permanent Change of Station Order

V. PROOF OF GOOD STANDING

Proof of good standing from the board in the other state in which the person has a license.

VI. Criminal Background Check (a "BCI") (unless required in the initial license application) BCI completed from the RI Attorney General's Office.

VII. ATTESTATIONS:

Check all that apply:

No board in any other state has revoked the license for which I am applying as a result of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I have never surrendered an occupational license, certificate, or permit because of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I do not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation currently pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime.

I attest that the above responses and information are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and that none of the information set forth above is false, erroneous, or defective in any important, as set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-18-1. I understand that this application is being made to the Rhode Island Department of Health, which shall rely upon my attestation and the information provided in this document.

Signature of Applicant

Date