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INSTRUCTIONS AND REGISTRATION FORM 

 
• In order to qualify for a Certificate of Registration for Farm Home Food Manufacture, a farm owner 

must generate a minimum of $2,500 in annual gross sales of agricultural products. 
• Registration forms must be either typed or legibly printed using a ballpoint pen, except signatures, 

which must be written in ink. Please answer all questions. Do not leave blanks. Incomplete 
applications will be returned to you and your certificate will not be issued.  

• Registration fee for Farm Home Food Manufacture is $65.00 annually 
� Attach check/money order in the amount of $65.00 to the front of this application and mail to: 

Office of Food Protection, 3 Capitol Hill, Room 203, Providence, RI 02908-5097. Please do not 
hand deliver this form to the Department of Health.  A receipt or cancelled check does not 
guarantee licensure. 

� Attach letter from RI Division of Taxation certifying exemption from taxes under § 44-18-
30(32). 

� Attach sketch of property detailing farm dwelling, well, and septic disposal system, indicating 
distance between well and septic. 

� Attach copy of test results stating that water is fit for human consumption.  
� Attach letter from building official stating that the kitchen meets minimum housing standards. 
� Attach list of food products to be manufactured. 

• If you have any questions concerning this application, call the Department of Health, Office of 
Food Protection at (401) 222-2749. 

• Attached are some of the applicable sections of State Law. Please read this information prior to 
signing and submitting this registration form. 

• Licensure application and registration materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island 
law and, as such, may be made available to the public unless otherwise prohibited by State or 
Federal law. 
 

Please complete sections below. 
 

General Information 
Farm Name: Phone: (     )                  Fax: (     ) 
Owner Name: Email: 
Address  
Street: 
State: City: Zip:  

 
 

Affidavit of Compliance 
 

I hereby agree to comply with the requirements of Section 21-27-6.1 of the General Laws of 
Rhode Island for Farm Home Food Manufacture as defined in paragraph 19 of section 21-27-1 
 

Applicant Name (print): 
Applicant Signature:  Date: 
 
Notary Name (print): 
Notary Signature: Date: 
   

 
 

 



State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Office of the Director
Cannon Building

3 Capitol Hill
 Providence, RI 02908-5097

Mandatory Addendum to License Application

This form MUST be completed, signed and attached to your
license application in order for us to process your application.

Pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as
amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have
filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must
have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state
taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state
tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a
written installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

        Signature        Date               Federal Employer Identification Numver (FEIN)

Furnishing the SSN and/or FEIN is mandatory. The SSN and/or FEIN will be
transmitted to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation pursuant to Chapter 75
of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended.

Verification of Social Security Number/Federal Employer Identification
Number and affidavit concerning taxpayer status

Applicant:  Print your complete last name >



 RI State Rules (informational only) 
 

§ 21-27-1  Definitions 
(6) "Farm home food manufacture" means the production in accordance with the requirements of § 21-27-6.1 of 
food for retail sale in a residential kitchen on a farm which produces agricultural products for human 
consumption and the operator of which is eligible for exemption from the sales and use tax in accordance with § 
44-18-30(32). 
 
 § 21-27-6.1  Farm home food manufacture. – Notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, the 
department of health shall permit farm home food manufacture and the sale of the products of farm home food 
manufacture at farmers' markets, farmstands, and other markets and stores operated by farmers for the purpose 
of the retail sale of the products of Rhode Island farms, provided that the requirements of this section are met.  

   (1) The farm home food products shall be produced in a kitchen that is on the premises of a farm and meets 
the standards for kitchens as provided for in minimum housing standards, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.2 of 
title 45 and the Housing Maintenance and Occupancy Code, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.3 of title 45, and in 
addition the kitchen shall:  

   (i) Be equipped at minimum with either a two (2) compartment sink or a dishwasher that reaches one hundred 
fifty (150) degrees Fahrenheit after the final rinse and drying cycle and a one compartment sink;  

   (ii) Have sufficient area or facilities, such as portable dish tubs and drain boards, for the proper handling of 
soiled utensils prior to washing and of cleaned utensils after washing so as not to interfere with safe food 
handling; equipment, utensils, and tableware shall be air dried;  

   (iii) Have drain boards and food preparation surfaces that shall be of a nonabsorbent, corrosion resistant 
material such as stainless steel, formica or other chip resistant, nonpitted surface;  

   (iv) Have self-closing doors for bathrooms that open directly into the kitchen;  

   (v) If farm is on private water supply it must be tested once per year.  

   (2) The farm home food products are prepared and produced ready for sale under the following conditions:  

   (i) Pets are kept out of food preparation and food storage areas at all times;  

   (ii) Cooking facilities shall not be used for domestic food purposes while farm home food products are being 
prepared;  

   (iii) Garbage is placed and stored in impervious covered receptacles before it is removed from the kitchen, 
which removal shall be at least once each day that the kitchen is used for farm home food manufacture;  

   (iv) Any laundry facilities which may be in the kitchen shall not be used during farm home food manufacture;  

   (v) Recipe(s) for each farm home food product with all the ingredients and quantities listed, and processing 
times and procedures, are maintained in the kitchen for review and inspection;  

   (vi) List ingredients on product;  

   (vii) Label with farm name, address and telephone number.  

   (3) Farm home food manufacture shall be limited to the production of nonpotentially hazardous food and 
foods that do not require refrigeration, including:  

   (i) Jams, jellies, preserves and acid foods, such as vinegars, that are prepared using fruits, vegetables and/or 
herbs that have been grown locally;  

   (ii) Double crust pies that are made with fruit grown locally;  

 



   (iii) Yeast breads;  

   (iv) Maple syrup from the sap of trees on the farm or of trees within a twenty (20) mile radius of the farm;  

   (v) Candies and fudges;  

   (vi) Dried herbs and spices.  

   (4) Each farm home kitchen shall be registered with the department of health and shall require a notarized 
affidavit of compliance, in any form that the department may require, from the owner of the farm that the 
requirements of this section have been met and the operation of the kitchen shall be in conformity with the 
requirements of this section. A certificate of registration shall be issued by the department upon the payment of 
a sixty-five dollar ($65.00) fee and the submission of an affidavit of compliance. The certificate of registration 
shall be valid for one year after the date of issuance; provided, however, that the certificate may be revoked by 
the director at any time for noncompliance with the requirements of the section. The certificate of registration, 
with a copy of the affidavit of compliance, shall be kept in the kitchen where the farm home food manufacture 
takes place. The director of health shall have the authority to develop and issue a standard form for the affidavit 
of compliance to be used by persons applying for a certificate of registration; the form shall impose no 
requirements or certifications beyond those set forth in this section and § 21-27-1(6). No certificates of 
registration shall be issued by the department prior to September 1, 2002.  

   (5) Income from farm home food manufacture shall not be included in the calculation of farm income for the 
purposes of obtaining an exemption from the sales and use tax pursuant to § 44-18-30(32), nor shall any 
equipment, utensils, or supplies acquired for the purpose of creating or operating farm home food manufacture 
be exempt from the sales and use tax as provided for in § 44-18-30(32).  
 
§ 44-18-30  Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes. – There are exempted from the taxes imposed by 
this chapter the following gross receipts: 
  (32) Farm equipment. From the sale and from the storage or use of machinery and equipment used directly for 
commercial farming and agricultural production; including, but not limited to, tractors, ploughs, harrows, 
spreaders, seeders, milking machines, silage conveyors, balers, bulk milk storage tanks, trucks with farm plates, 
mowers, combines, irrigation equipment, greenhouses and greenhouse coverings, graders and packaging 
machines, tools and supplies and other farming equipment, including replacement parts, appurtenant to or used 
in connection with commercial farming and tools and supplies used in the repair and maintenance of farming 
equipment. "Commercial farming" means the keeping or boarding of five (5) or more horses or the production 
within this state of agricultural products, including, but not limited to, field or orchard crops, livestock, dairy, 
and poultry, or their products, where the keeping, boarding, or production provides at least two thousand five 
hundred dollars ($2,500) in annual gross sales to the operator, whether an individual, a group, a partnership, or a 
corporation for exemptions issued prior to July 1, 2002; for exemptions issued or renewed after July 1, 2002, 
there shall be two (2) levels. Level I shall be based on proof of annual gross sales from commercial farming of 
at least twenty-five hundred dollars ($2,500) and shall be valid for purchases subject to the exemption provided 
in this subdivision except for motor vehicles with an excise tax value of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or 
greater; Level II shall be based on proof of annual gross sales from commercial farming of at least ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000) or greater and shall be valid for purchases subject to the exemption provided in this 
subdivision including motor vehicles with an excise tax value of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or greater. For 
the initial issuance of the exemptions, proof of the requisite amount of annual gross sales from commercial 
farming shall be required for the prior year; for any renewal of an exemption granted in accordance with this 
subdivision at either Level I or Level II, proof of gross annual sales from commercial farming at the requisite 
amount shall be required for each of the prior two (2) years. Certificates of exemption issued or renewed after 
July 1, 2002, shall clearly indicate the level of the exemption and be valid for four (4) years after the date of 
issue. This exemption applies even if the same equipment is used for ancillary uses, or is temporarily used for a 
non-farming or a non-agricultural purpose, but shall not apply to motor vehicles acquired after July 1, 2002, 
unless the vehicle is a farm vehicle as defined pursuant to § 31-1-8 and is eligible for registration displaying 
farm plates as provided for in § 31-3-31. 
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