Registration and Instructions for Food Business:



Cottage Food Manufacture

Please complete sections below.

General Information				
Business Name:		Phone: ()	Fax: ()	
Owner Name:		Email:		
Street:				
State:	City:	Zip):	

OFFICE USE ONLY

	Initials	Date
Risk Type		
Approved by F.O. Supervisor		
Profile Entered By		
License ID#		
Receipt No.		
License No.		
Certified Food Safety Manager Required: 0 1 >1		

INSTRUCTIONS AND REGISTRATION FORM

- Each cottage food kitchen shall be registered with the department of health and shall require a notarized affidavit of compliance from the owner of the business that the requirements of this section have been met and the operation of the kitchen shall be in conformity with the requirements of this section.
- A certificate of registration shall be issued by the department upon the payment of a sixty-five dollars (\$65.00) fee and the submission of an affidavit of compliance. The certificate of registration shall be valid for one year after the date of issuance; provided, however, that the certificate may be revoked by the director at any time for noncompliance with the requirements of this section. The certificate of registration shall be kept in the kitchen where the cottage food manufacture takes place.
- No certificates of registration shall be issued by the department prior to November 1, 2022.
- Prior to the initial registration, each cottage food manufacturer is required to successfully complete a Food Safety Manager Course, any American Standards Institute approved food handler course, or any other course approved by the department.
- In order to qualify for a Certificate of Registration for a Cottage Food Manufacture, an applicant must generate under \$50,000 in annual gross sales of food products.
- Registration forms must be either typed or legibly printed using a ballpoint pen, except signatures, which must be written in ink. Please answer all questions. Do not leave blanks. Incomplete applications will be returned to you and your certificate will not be issued.
- Registration fee for Cottage Food Manufacture is \$65.00 annually.
 - Attach check/money order in the amount of \$65.00 made payable to "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island" to the front of this application and mail to: Center for Food Protection, 3 Capitol Hill, Room 203, Providence, RI 02908-5097. A receipt or cancelled check does not guarantee licensure.
 - Attach proof of food handler training or food safety certification.
 - □ Complete notarized affidavit of compliance (attached) to affirm that requirements in the Rhode Island General Law 21-27-6.2 are met.
 - □ Attach sketch of property detailing cottage food kitchen dwelling, private well (if not municipal system), and septic disposal system (if not municipal), indicating distance between well and septic.
 - □ Attach copy of test results for Total Coliform, E Coli, and Nitrates showing that water is fit for human consumption.
 - □ Attach list of food products to be manufactured and labels for each item.
- If you have any questions concerning this application, call the Department of Health, Center for Food Protection at (401) 222-2749.
- Attached are some of the applicable sections of State Law. Please read this information prior to signing and submitting this registration form.
- Registration application and materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and, as such, may be made available to the public unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal law.

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Office of the Director Cannon Building 3 Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908-5097

Mandatory Addendum to License Application

Verification of Social Security Number/Federal Employer Identification Number and affidavit concerning taxpayer status

Pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

Signature

Date

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Furnishing the SSN and/or FEIN is mandatory. The SSN and/or FEIN will be transmitted to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended.

This form <u>MUST</u> be completed, signed and attached to your registration application in order for us to process your application.

Rhode Island General Law (informational only)

§ 21-27-1 Definitions

(3) "Cottage food manufacture" means the production in accordance with the requirements of § 21-27-6.2 of allowable foods for retail sale directly to the consumer in a residential kitchen.

§ 21-27-6.2 Cottage food manufacture. – Notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, the department of health shall permit cottage food manufacture and the sale of the products of the cottage food manufacture at retail, provided that the requirements of this section are met.

(1) The cottage food products shall be produced in a kitchen that is on the premises of a home and meets the standards for kitchens as provided for in minimum housing standards, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.2 of title 45 and the Housing Maintenance and Occupancy Code, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.3 of title 45, and in addition the kitchen shall:

(i) Be equipped at minimum with either a two (2) compartment sink or a dishwasher that reaches one hundred fifty (150) degrees Fahrenheit after the final rinse and drying cycle and a one compartment sink;

(ii) Have sufficient area or facilities, such as portable dish tubs and drain boards, for the proper handling of soiled utensils prior to washing and of cleaned utensils after washing so as not to interfere with safe food handling; equipment, utensils, and tableware shall be air dried;

(iii) Have drain boards and food preparation surfaces that shall be of a nonabsorbent, corrosion resistant material such as stainless steel, Formica or other chip resistant, nonpitted surface;

(iv) Have self-closing doors for bathrooms that open directly into the kitchen;

(v) If the home is on private water supply, the water supply must be tested once per year;

(vi)Notwithstanding this subsection, the cottage food products may also be produced in a commercial kitchen licensed by the department and is leased or rented by the cottage food registrant provided that a record be maintained as to the dates the commercial kitchen was used and that ingredients used in the production of cottage foods are transported according to applicable food safety standards and regulations promulgated by the department.

(2) The cottage food products are prepared and produced ready for sale under the following conditions:

(i) Pets are kept out of food preparation and food storage areas at all times;

(ii) Cooking facilities shall not be used for domestic food purposes while farm home food products are being prepared;

(iii) Garbage is placed and stored in impervious covered receptacles before it is removed from the kitchen, which removal shall be at least once each day that the kitchen is used for cottage food manufacture;

(iv) Any laundry facilities which may be in the kitchen shall not be used during cottage food manufacture;

(v) Recipe(s) for each cottage food product with all the ingredients and quantities listed, and processing times and procedures, are maintained in the kitchen for review and inspection;

(vi) An affixed label that contains:

(A) Name, address, and telephone number;

(B) The ingredients of the cottage food product, in descending order of predominance by weight or volume;

(C) Allergen information, as specified by federal and state labeling requirements, such as milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans; and

(D) The following statement printed in at least ten-point type in a clear and conspicuous manner that provides contrast to the background label: "Made by a Cottage Food Business Registrant that is not Subject to Routine Government Food Safety Inspection," unless products have been prepared in a commercial kitchen licensed by the department.

(3) Cottage food manufacture shall be limited to the production of baked goods that do not require refrigeration or time/temperature control for safety, including but not limited to:

- (i) Double crust pies;
- (ii) Yeast breads;
- (iii) Biscuits, brownies, cookies, muffins; and
- (iv) Cakes that do not require refrigeration or temperature-controlled environment; and
- (v) Other goods as defined by the department.

(4) Each cottage food manufacturer shall be registered with the department of health and shall require a notarized affidavit of compliance, in any form that the department may require, from the applicant that the requirements of this section have been met and the operation of the kitchen shall be in conformity with the requirements of this section. Prior to the initial registration, each cottage food manufacturer is required to successfully complete a Food Safety Manager Course, any American Standards Institute approved food handler course, or any other course approved by the department. A certificate of registration shall be issued by the department upon the payment of a fee as set forth in § 23-1-54 and the submission of an affidavit of compliance. The certificate of registration shall be valid for one year after the date of issuance; provided, however, that the certificate may be revoked by the director at any time for noncompliance with the requirements of the section. The certificate of manufacture takes place. The director of health shall have the authority to develop and issue a standard form for the affidavit of compliance to be used by persons applying for a certificate of registration; the form shall impose no requirements or certifications beyond those set forth in this section and § 21-27-1(6). No certificates of registration shall be issued by the department prior to November 1, 2022.

(5) No such operation shall engage in consignment or wholesale sales. The following additional locational sales by any such cottage food operation shall be prohibited: (1) Grocery stores; (2) restaurants; (3) long-term care facilities; (4) group homes; (5) day care facilities; and (6) schools. Advertising and sales by Internet, mail and phone are permissible, provided the cottage food licensee or their designee shall deliver, in person, to the customer within the state.

(6) Total annual gross sales for a cottage food operation shall not exceed fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) per calendar year. If annual gross sales exceed the maximum annual gross sales amount allowed, the cottage food registrant shall either obtain food processor license or cease operations. The director of health shall request documentation to verify the annual gross sales figure of any cottage food operation.

(7) Sales on all cottage foods are subject to applicable sales tax pursuant to §44-18-7.

(8) The director of health or designee may inspect a cottage food operation at any time to ensure compliance with the provisions of this section. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the director of health or designee of the director from investigating the registered area of a cottage food operation in response to a foodborne illness outbreak, consumer complaint or other public health emergency.

Affidavit of Compliance

I hereby agree to comply with the requirements that cottage food products shall be produced in a kitchen that is on the premises of my home and meets the standards for kitchens as provided for in minimum housing standards, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.2 of title 45 and the Housing Maintenance and Occupancy Code, adopted pursuant to chapter 24.3 of title 45, and in addition the kitchen shall:

(i) Be equipped at minimum with either a two (2) compartment sink or a dishwasher that reaches one hundred fifty (150) degrees Fahrenheit after the final rinse and drying cycle and a one compartment sink;

(ii) Have sufficient area or facilities, such as portable dish tubs and drain boards, for the proper handling of soiled utensils prior to washing and of cleaned utensils after washing so as not to interfere with safe food handling; equipment, utensils, and tableware shall be air dried;

(iii) Have drain boards and food preparation surfaces that shall be of a nonabsorbent, corrosion resistant material such as stainless steel, Formica or other chip resistant, nonpitted surface;

(iv) Have self-closing doors for bathrooms that open directly into the kitchen;

(v) If the home is on private water supply, the water supply must be tested once per year;

Further, by signing this Affidavit of Compliance I hereby agree to comply with the requirements of Section 21.27.6.2 of the General Laws of Rhode Island for Cottage Food Manufacture as defined in section 21.27.1, and that the requirements of this section have been met and the operation of the kitchen shall be in conformity with the requirements of these sections.

Applicant Name (print):	
Applicant Signature:	Date:
Notary Name (print):	
Notary Signature:	Date:

Note: The certificate of registration, with a copy of the Affidavit of Compliance, shall be kept in the kitchen where the cottage food manufacture takes place.