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Licensing Application 
and instructions for 

 

 

Assisted Living Residences 

Limited Health Services 
RI General Law Chapter 23-17.4 

 

 
 

Licensee Name:               

 
Current Assisted Living Residence Licensee Number:  ______________________________________________ 

 
 

 

Reason for application (Please check all that apply): 
  

 

1.  Initial Licensure – Limited Health Services - $600.00 Application Fee  
 
 

2.  Increase in Services Offered – (May only increase services offered one time                 

                                                                                      per annual licensing period) – No Fee    
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INSTRUCTIONS 
 

• Please answer all questions.  Do not leave blanks. Incomplete forms will be returned to you and your license/permit 
will not be issued.  
 

• The fee for initial (new) Limited Health Services license is $600.00.  Increases and/or decreases of services offered 
require no fee.  Note:  Increases in services provided may only be made one time per annual licensing period and 
decreases require notice of thirty (30) days or more prior to ceasing to offer a licensed service   

 

• Make your check/money order payable to "General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island".  Do not send cash. 
 
Sign the completed application, return it with the required fee and mail to: 
    Rhode Island Department of Health 

3 Capitol Hill, Room 306 
Providence, RI  02908-5097 

 

• If you have any questions concerning this application, call the office of Facilities Regulations at (401) 222-2566. 
 

• Licensure application materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and may be made available 
to the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal law. 

 
Attachments: Please label and staple each separate attachment and securely affix any and all additional documents 
and/or approvals to this application.  Required documents include, but are not limited to: 
 

1) Copy of document that meets the requirement for right to access a home care provider as stated in 46.4 of the  
regulations. 

 
2) Copy of the ALR’s disclosure form specific to Limited Health Services as required in 47.6 of the regulations. 

 
3) Name of Rhode Island licensed physician identified to provide direction in the development of policies and 

procedures. 
 

4) Copy of Quality Assurance Plan that meets the requirements of 2.7.  
 

5) Name of physician, nurse practitioner, and/or physician assistant that will serve as a member of the QA 
committee. 

 
6) Name of Registered Nurse that will be on staff full-time thirty-five (35) hours per week. 

 
7) Copy of policy that demonstrates the residence meets the requirements for emergency power as required in 

Section 47.0 
 

8) Evidence of a residence-specific infection prevention program as required in Section 16.3.1 
 

9) Admission and discharge criteria for residents requiring limited health services 
 

10) Copies of all applicable policies and procedures that detail the services to be offered: 

• Stage I and stage II pressure ulcer treatment and prevention; 

• Simple wound care including postoperative suture care/removal and stasis ulcer care; 

• Ostomy care including appliance changes for residents with established stomas; 

• Urinary catheter care; 

• If applicable, coordination of hospice services for residents who are bed-bound or in need 
of assistance from more than one staff person for ambulation. 
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Postage: The amount of postage required for mail delivery will vary depending upon the total weight of your attachment(s) and 

application.  Please be careful to include the appropriate postage necessary to mail your completed application. 
 

Please complete the following: 
 

 

 

 
Residence Name: 

Name of the Residence  
as known to the public 

 
 

 
 

                

 

 
Please check all services that are 
to be provided: 
 
 

 

 

    

           Stage I and stage II pressure ulcer treatment and prevention  

 
                                                                   
 

           Simple wound care including postoperative suture care/removal & stasis ulcer care  

 
      

           Ostomy care including appliance changes for residents with established stomas 
 
 

            Urinary catheter care 
 
                  

            Coordination of hospice services for residents who are bed-bound or in need 
          of assistance from more than one staff person for ambulation.  (Note: if you plan       
          to provide this service then the residence must also be licensed to provide     
          Stage I and stage II pressure ulcer treatment and prevention)                                                                    
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Acknowledgements 
 

I am aware of Chapter 23-17.4 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended, and the standards, rules and 
regulations prescribed there under, which regulate the operation of this Residence. 
 
I acknowledge that authorized representative of the Licensing Agency shall, in conformity with the authority continued 
under Chapter 23-17.4 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, as amended, have the right to enter without prior notice to 
inspect the entire premises and services, including all records of any Residence/residence. 
 

 
FEIN Number: 
 
(Federal Employer 
Identification Number) 
 
Note:  If you are a sole 
proprietor this number 
may be your Social 
Security Number. 

 

Pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, any person 
applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other authority to conduct a business or 
occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes 
due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state 
taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 
 

Please provide below SSN/FEIN for this license: 

 
SSN/F.E.I.N. Number:            
 

 
Affidavit of 
Applicant 
 
Read, sign, and date 
this affidavit. 

 

AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE 
 

This Application Must be Signed 
 

I have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them 
completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that 
my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish 
any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute 
cause for denial, suspension or revocation of this License in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
I understand that this is a continuing application and that I have an affirmative duty to 
inform the Rhode Island Department of Health of any change in the answers to these 
questions after this application and this Affidavit is signed. 
 
I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns 
and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written installment 
agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 

 
 
Signature of Authorized Person    Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 
 
 
 
Printed Name of Authorized Person  
 

 
 
 
Title of Authorized Person 
 

Furnishing the SSN and/or FEIN is mandatory.  The SSN and/or FEIN will be transmitted to 
the Rhode Island Division of Taxation pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 of the Rhode Island 
General Laws, as amended. 

 


