**FOR OFFICE USE ONLY***

Receipt #
ID#
Issue Date
License #
Rhode Island
Nursing Assistant Advisory Board
Room 105
3 Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908-5097

Instructions and Application For

License As A
Nursing Assistant

By Reinstatement

Applicant - Print Name (First/MI/Last)

Phone: (401) 222-5888 TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555 Fax: (401) 222-3352

Revised 12/10/2012 jcp

ATINO 3ISN 321440



GENERAL INFORMATION

Enclosures

The following materials and information should be enclosed within this application packet:
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Employment VerifiCation FOIMi.........ouuiiiiii e e e e e et e e e e e e e e e aaennnas 11
Mandatory Addendum to Licensure Application FOrM...........ooooiiii 12

Licensure Requirements
Both Endorsement and Reinstatement Applicants
» Recent passport type photograph.

e Applicants MUST provide a Full BCI Check from the Attorney General’s Office anly (Attorney
General’s Office, 150 South Main Street, Providence, Rl 02903 - (401) 274-4400).

» Photocopy of active license/registration from current state.
* Processing Fee: $35.00 (covers application processing and intial license).

e Proof of completion of Training Program of 100 or more hours OR Proof of completion of Training Program of
less than 100 hours (documentation must state number of hours completed) AND proof of employment for
3 months full time in Nursing Home, Hospital or Home Care Agency (See Employment Verification form, page
11). (Reinstatement only)

» Proof of employment for at least least one 8-hour shift within the past two years (license must be current at the
time of employment) in Nursing Home, Hospital or Home Care Agency (See Employment Verification form,
page 11). (Reinstatement only)

» Verification from all state(s) of licensure either current/expired/lapsed (see Interstate Verification form, page
10). (Endorsement only)

Rules and Regulations/Laws

To obtain the Rules and Regulations for your profession visit the A-Z list on the Topics & Programs page at the
following web site. From the list click on the letter for your profession.

http://www.health.ri.gov/atoz/

Chapter 23, Title 17.9 entitled “Registration of Nursing Assistants” can be downloaded at the following web site:

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/statutes/title23/23-17.9/index.htm
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APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Health Professionals Regulation, and the Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board
(Board).

Application Process

Please allow a minimum of 8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed. If you have a malpractice,
criminal or disciplinary history in Rhode Island, or another state, it can take an additional 2 or 3 months for process-
ing your application.

Licenses will be issued within 7-10 working days following approval of the license and wil expire every two years.
Wallet-sized license cards are mailed within 3 weeks from the date of issuance, and are mailed to the address
furnished in the application. You are responsible for notifying the Board office, in writing, if your address changes in
the interim. Visit the following website to obtain a change of address form.

http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/changeofaddress/professions.pdf

To obtain your license number prior to receiving your license card, please refer to the HEALTH Licensee
Lookup web site:
https://healthri.mylicense.com/Verification/

HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the expense of others. Once
completed, the application will be reviewed, and you will be contacted in writing. Be advised, you may be required
to appear for an interview. NOTE: You may not practice in Rhode Island until you have received a license number.

Please continue to review the remaining portions of this application packet for instructions and other materials
necessary to complete the application. If you have any questions about this application process, or would like to
check on the status of your application, please contact the board staff at (401) 222-5888.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Read the following instructions and those throughout the application packet carefully before completing the
application. Only complete applications with the appropriate fee will be accepted. Failure to submit all
required information and appropriate documentation may result in processing delays.

General Instructions

1.
2.

3,
4.
5,

Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.

Type your information or print in blue or black ball-point pen. HEALTH staff will not make assumptions about
illegible information.

Provide a response to each section or question; otherwise mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.

We suggest that you make a copy of your completed application before submitting it to HEALTH.

It is your responsibility to check on the status of your application.

Completing your Application

1.

Complete the application pages (5-8). You must respond to all components of the application as
instructed. If you attach separate pages in continuation of the application, such pages MUST clearly indicate
the section for which such information is being reported.

Make a check or money order (in U.S. Funds only) for the reinstatement fee of $35.00 payable to General

Treasurer, State of Rhode Island and staple it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the
application. This application fee is NONREFUNDABLE.

Complete all application materials as instructed and arrange them in the order listed on the application
checklist (page 9). Do not submit the application without all applicable information, documentation and
fee(s). Mail these components of the application to:

Rhode Island Department of Health
Nursing Assistant Advisory Board
Room 105, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
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State of Rhode Island
Nursing Assistant Advisory Board
Application for License as a Nursing Assistant by Reinstatement

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens.

1. Name(s)

This is the name that
will be printed on your
License/Permit/
Certificate and
reported to those who
inquire about your
License/ Permit/
Certificate. Do not use
nicknames, etc.

Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.)

First Name

Middle Name

Surname, (Last Name)

Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., I, 111

Maiden, if applicable
Name(s) under which originally licensed in this or another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last).

2. Social Security
Number

“Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General
as amended, | attest that | have filed all applicable tax returns and
paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and | understand
that my Social Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the

Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State.”

U.S. Social Security Number

3. Gender

|:| Male |:| Female

4. Date of Birth

19

Month Day Year

5. Home
Address
It is your responsibility
to notify the board of all
address changes.

1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

Second Line Address (Number and Street)

City State Zip Code

Country, IfNOTU.S. Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Home Phone Home Fax
Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.qg. applicant@isp.com)
6. Business

Add res§ L Name of Business/Work Location

(ONLY if it is

RELATED to ) !

R 1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)

your license.)

It is your responsibility Second Line Address (Number and Street)

to notify the board of all

address changes.
City State Zip Code

This address will
appear on the
Department of
Health web site.

Country, If NOTU.S. Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.

Business Phone Extension Business Fax
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7. Preferred
Mailing
Address
Please check ONE

|:| Please use my Home Address as my preferred mailing address

|:| Please use my Business Address as my preferred mailing address

8. Training
Information

Name of School/Training Program
Address (Number and Street)

City State Zip Code

License Number of
School/Training Program:

. Date Class Began: Date Graduated:
Please list the name
and information about Month Dy Year Month Day Year
the training that you
participated in that
qualifies you for Test Site:
this license.
Employment Date: Test Date:
(If Applicable) Month Day Year Month Day Year
9. Original (and Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state? |:|Yes |:| No
Other) State
License(s) If the answer to this question is “yes”, list the license number(s) of the original

state (and any other states) of licensure below:
Please answer the

. . Original Licensure Other State Licensure
question and list
state(s), if
applicable
State License Number State License Number
Other State Licensure Other State Licensure
State License Number State License Number
10. Crimina_ll Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered
Convictions a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or |:| Yes |:| No
Respond to the are any formal charges pending?

question at the top
of the section, then o o .
list any criminal Abbreviation of State and Conviction® (e.g. CA - lllegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):
conviction(s) in the
space provided.

Month Year

If necessary, you
may continue on a
separate 8%z x 11
sheet of paper.
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11. Disciplinary
Questions

Check either Yes or
No for each
question.

B

1. Has any Health Professional license, certificate, registration, or permit you
T . Yes No
hold or have held, been disciplined or are formal charges pending?

2. Hta;/eoyou ever been denied a license, certificate, registration or permit in any Yes No
state?

Note: If you answer “Yes” to any question, you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reason

and disposition of the matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, on a separate sheet of paper. If you answer
“Yes” to any question you must attach originals, or certified copies of any court documentation to this application.
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12. Affidavit of

Applicant
) ) I, , being first duly sworn, depose and say that | am the
Complete this section . . . . .
and sign in the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.
presence of a notary
public. | have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without

Make sure that you reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by
and the notary public me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that

have completed all such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice as a Nursing
components Assistant in the State of Rhode Island.

accurately and

completely.

| understand that this is a continuing application and that | have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode
Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board of any change in the answers to these questions after this applica-
tion and this affidavit is signed.

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this day of

, 20 , by ,

who is personally known to me or has produced

as documentation and did / did not take an oath.

Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary
Notary Seal

Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date (MM/DD/YY)

13. Recent
Photograph

Securely tape or NO

glue in this square a

current 2" x 2" PHOTOCOPIES

photograph of
yourself (alone).

Photographs must be

ATTACH WITH

photo, clear, front

xﬁr\:vc;uftug r::fir dark C L EA R TAP E

glasses.

Full length photos will O N I_Y

not be accepted.

% Write your name on the back of the photograph, and provide the date that the photograph was taken.

Date of Photograph
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Please review the following checklist to ensure that all the components of the application process have been satisfied. Some
items may not apply.

Board Application

| have read and understand the “Instructions for Completing the Application”.

| have completed the application as instructed (pages 5-8).

| have attached the cover page of the application.

| have completed Section 12, “ Affidavit of Applicant”, and have had the form notarized by a notary public.

| have attached a photograph to Section 13, “Recent Photograph” as instructed. | have verified that it meets the
photograph requirements as stated in the application.

I have a check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the “RI General Treasurer” in the
amount of $35.00 and attached it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application (All fees are
NON-REFUNDABLE).

| have arranged my Board Application materials in the following order.

1. Fee (attached as instructed).
2. Board Application (including cover page) (pages 5-8).

3. Supporting documentation as required. [Note: Pages containing additional information in continuation of the
Board application MUST indicate the section for which the information is being reported.]

| have mailed the above application materials directly to the Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board.

I have mailed the “Interstate Verification form(s)” to all states where | have been licensed.

| have mailed “Verification of Employment” form to verify my full-time employment of at least one 8 -hour shift with-
in the past two years in a nursing home, hospital, or home care agency.

| have enclosed a photocopy of a current NA license from the state of

| have requested a full Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) check as instructed.
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Substitute forms are not acceptable, One (1) form is required for each state in which you hold, or have held a license.

Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board Copy this form as needed.
Room 105, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
(401) 222-5888

INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S) (One form for each state)

I am applying for reinstatement to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board requires
that the following form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which | hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in
your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name Signature Date
19
Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth
APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND
License Number Date Issued THEN SEND FORM TO THE OTHER STATE BOARD

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE NURSING ASSISTANT BOARD

Directions for State Board: Please complete and return this form to the address above . Please verify requirements met in your state:
If you answer “yes” to any of the questions #5 through #8, please explain on a separate sheet of paper and attach it to this form.

Licensed by Examination? If not by examination, how was license obtained?
[JYes [ No Endorsement (State) Other (Explain)

Applicant has completed and passed the National Certification Exam: | License Status: Original Date Issued: Expiration Date:
[JYes [] No Score Level of Exam: [] Active [JInactive [ JLapsed

Questions:

1. Has this applicant met all relevant state and federal requirements under OBRA ‘87 and ‘89 for Nurse Aide O ves 0 No
Registration in the state of ?

2. Please indicate method and state approved training program in the state of

Date of Completion Number of hours
3. Competency Evaluation in state of Date of Completion OR Reciprocity/Endorsement

Registration in state of Other method (please explain):

4. Registration Number Issued Expiration

5. Has this licensee ever been investigated by your Board? [ Yes [ No

6. Has this licensee incurred any disciplinary proceedings in your state, or is any action pending? [ Yes [0 No

7. Has the applicant’s license ever been denied, surrendered, reprimanded, suspended, revoked or placed [ Yes [0 No
on probation?
8. Do you know of any information that may discredit this person? [ ves [J No

If you answer “yes” to any of the questions #5 through #8, please explain on a separate sheet of paper and attach it to this form.

Certification:

Signature Date

Type or Print Name Please Affix
Board Seal Here

Title

Full Name of Licensing Board e

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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For Reinstatement.
Substitute forms are not acceptable, copy this form as needed.
Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory Board
Room 105, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
(401) 222-5888

NURSING ASSISTANT VERIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT FORM

I am applying for reinstatement of a license to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Nursing Assistant Advisory
Board requires that applicants for Rhode Island licensure who are reinstating their license must have this form verified and signed by the Employer/
Employing Agency. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Nursing
Assistant Advisory Board at the above address.

Print/Type Full Name Signature Date
19
Previous Names Used Social Security Number Date of Birth
IMPORTANT!: APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS
License Number Date Issued SECTION AND THEN SEND FORM TO EMPLOYER

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE
EMPLOYER/EMPLOYING AGENCY

The individual named above has made application to the Rhode Island Department of Health, Nursing Assistant Advisory Board to become reinstated
as a Nursing Assistant. Rhode Island Rules and Regulations for the licensure of Nursing Assistants requires any individual has worked in another state
as a Nursing Assistant to obtain verification of Employment for a period of at least one 8-hour shift. This form is provided for that purpose.

This is to certify that has completed a minimum of one 8-hour shift of employment in a skilled
nursing facility.

Name of Skilled Nursing Facility:

Located at (street address):

City, State, Zip Code:

Dates of Employment: From To
month/day/year month/day/year

Additional Comments:

Certification:

Signature of Administrator/DNS Date

Acknowledgement:

Type or Print Name : By signing this form,|
hereby affirm that my

comments and answers to

: the above questions are

Title . true and complete to the
best of my knowlege

Please return directly to the Board at the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.
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