_
urs) oyment)
n Required) for instructions
reservist
Teservist
nd?
n fo

DO NOT REMOVE THIS PAGE FROM APPLICATION
\*DO NOT HAND DELIVER - APPLICATION MUST BE MAILED\*

FIRST NAME

Phone: (401) 222-5888 TTY/TDD: (800) 745-5555

LAST NAME

MI

### LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Please review the following checklists CAREFULLY. Listed are all of the documents and fee that you will need for the application. All

items must be submitted before an application is complete. Applications are valid for a 1 year period. You are responsible for notifying RIDOH, in writing, within ten (10) days, if your home address changes. All Applicants - Must Provide the following Completed Application with Cover Page. Check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the RI General Treasurer in the amount of \$35.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application. THIS APPLICATION FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE. Copy of Driver's License or State Issued ID. Original BCI (Background Check) with stamp and seal from the RI Attorney General's Office only, For information on this process please visit their website at: http://www.riag.ri.gov/BCI. If positive BCI, a detailed explanation is required for each incident. BCI must be dated within 4 months of the date of this application. If applying for expedited military status, please complete the Military Expedition Form at the end of this application packet. Evidence of a current license as a Nursing Assistant in another state Completed Interstate Veri ication Form enclosed in this application. You must complete the top section of the form and send the form to the other state board. AND: Choose ONE below on how you are applying for a license. Include all of the required information to complete your Nursing Assistant application. Evidence of 100 Nursing Assistant Training Program Hours - Copy of your Nursing Assistant Training Program Certificate of Completion or a letter from your school on company letterhead. Evidence MUST state the number of hours AND must include a minimum of 20 hours of practical clinical training under supervision. <u>OR</u> Evidence of 3 Months Employment as a Nursing Assistant - Provide an employer's statement that you have at least 3 months of full-time work experience within the last year as a Nursing Assistant Completed Employment Verification Form enclosed in this application. You must complete the top section of the form and send the form to your

employer. This verification must include one (1) hour per month of in-service training for each month you have been

employed.



# **State of Rhode Island**Application for License as a Nursing Assistant

1. Name(s)	
This is the name that will appear on the	Title (i.e., Mr., Mrs., Ms., etc.)
HEALTH website. Do not use nicknames, etc.	First Name
	Middle Name
	Surname, (Last Name)
	Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., II, III)
	Maiden, if applicable
	Name(s) under which originally licensed in this or another state, if different from above (First, Middle, Last).
2. Social Security	"Pursuant to Title 5, Chapter 76, of the Rhode Island General Laws, as
Number	us. Social Security Number amended, I attest that I have filed all applicable tax returns and paid all taxes owed to the State of Rhode Island, and I understand that my Social
	Security Number (SSN) will be transmitted to the Divison of Taxation to verify that no taxes are owed to the State."
3. Gender	Male Female
	Water     Female
4. Date of Birth	
	Month Day Year
5. Home Address	1st Line Address (Apartment/Suite/Room Number, etc.)
It is your responsibility	
to notify RIDOH of all address changes within	Second Line Address (Number and Street)
ten (10) days.	City State Zip Code
	Country, If NOT U.S.  Postal Code, If NOT U.S.
	Home Phone  Home Fax
	Email Address
6. Business	
Address (ONLY if it is	Name of Business/Work Location
RELATED to	1st Line Address (Department/Suite/Room Number, etc.)
your license.)	Is the Address (Department Suite Addit Number, etc.)
It is your responsibility	Second Line Address (Number and Street)
to notify HEALTH of all address changes.  This address will	
	City State Zip Code
appear on the Health website.	Country, If NOT U.S.  Postal Code, If NOT U.S.
	Business Phone Extension Business Fax

7. Preferred Mailing Address Please check <u>ONE</u>	Please use my <b>Home Address</b> as my preferred mailing address.  Please use my <b>Business Address</b> as my preferred mailing address.			
8. Original and Other State License Information	Have you ever held, or do you currently hold, a license in another state?  If you answered "yes", list the license number(s) of the original state (and any other states) of licensure below:  Original Licensure  Other State License Number  Other State Licensure  Other State Licensure  State License Number  State License Number  State License Number	Yes	No	
9. Criminal Convictions  If needed, you may continue on a separate sheet of paper.	Have you ever been convicted of a violation, plead Nolo Contendere, or entered a plea bargain to any federal, state or local statute, regulation, or ordinance or are any formal charges pending? If you answer yes and do not provide a detailed explanation, your application will not be processed.  Abbreviation of State and Conviction¹ (e.g. CA- Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance):  If you answer yes, you must give complete  details as to what led to the arrest(s).	Month	Year	
10. Disciplinary Questions	Has any Health Professional license, certificate, registration, or permit you hold or have held, been disciplined or are formal charges pending?	Yes	No	
Check either Yes or No for each question.	Have you ever been denied a license, certificate, registration or permit in any state?      Note: If you answer "Yes", you are required to furnish complete details, including date, place, reas matter. You may use the space below or, if needed, you may continue on a separate sheet of paper.		No No tion of the	

### 

### **Important Licensure Information**

Allow a minimum of 8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed. Once compete you will be contacted in writing and you may NOT practice as a Nursing Assistant in Rhode Island until you have received your license.

If you are applying by Examination and are currently in a Nursing Assistant Training Program you will be given a 120 day temporary permit. No extensions will be granted.

Notify RIDOH within 10 Days of a change of address.

Please visit the RIDOH website at <a href="http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses">http://www.health.ri.gov/licenses</a> to Verify your license, download Rules and Regualtions/Laws for your profession, download change of address forms, other licensing forms or obtain our contact information. RIDOH will not, for any reason, accelerate the processing of one applicant at the expense of others.



Full Name of Licensing Board

### **Rhode Island Department of Health**

3 Capitol Hill, Room 104 Providence, RI 02908-5097 (401) 222-5888

### INTERSTATE VERIFICATION FORM - OTHER STATE LICENSE(S) (One form for each state)

I am applying for reinstatement to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Department of Health requires that this form be completed by the jurisdiction(s) in which I hold or have held a license. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health at the above address.

APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND THEN SEND FORM TO THE OTHER STATE BOARD

Print/Type Full Name		Signature			Date
Previous Names Used		Social Security Number			ate of Birth
License Number	Date Issued	_			
THIS SECTION	N TO BE COMPLI	ETED BY THE NURS	ING ASSISTAI	NT BO	ARD
Directions for State Board: Plea If you answer "yes" to any of the					te.
Licensed by Examination? ☐ Yes ☐ No	If not by examination, ho Endorsement(S	w was license obtained? state) Other			(Explain)
Applicant has completed and passed  Yes No ScoreLevel of		License Status: ☐ Active ☐ Inactive ☐Lapsed	Original Date Issued:	Expir	ation Date:
Questions:  1. Has this applicant met all releven Registration in the state of		ments under OBRA '87 and '89 for	Nursing Assistant	_ Yes	□ No
2. Please indicate method and si	tate approved training progran	nin the state	of		
Date of Completion	Number of hours				
3. Competency Evaluation in sta	te of Date of Com	npletionOR Recipro	city/Endorsement		
Registration in state of	Other method (please	explain):	_		
Registration Number	IssuedEx	xpiration			
5. Has this licensee ever been in	vestigated by your Board?			☐ Yes	□ No
6. Has this licensee incurred any	y disciplinary proceedings in y	our state, or is any action pending	?	☐ Yes	□ No
7. Has the applicant's license even on probation?	er been denied, surrendered,	reprimanded, suspended, revoked	or placed	☐ Yes	□ No
8. Do you know of any information	on that may discredit this perso	on?		☐ Yes	□ No
Certification:					
Signature		Date	<u> </u>		
Towns on Delet No.					
Type or Print Name				Ple	ease Affix
Title				Board	d Seal Here
TIUC					



### **Rhode Island Department of Health**

3 Capitol Hill, Room 104 Providence, RI 02908-5097 (401) 222-5888

#### NURSING ASSISTANT VERIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT FORM

I am applying for a license to practice as a Nursing Assistant in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Department of Health requires that applicants for Rhode Island licensure must have this form verified and signed by their Employer/Employing Agency. This constitutes authority for you to release all information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health at the above address.

APPLICANT MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION AND THEN SEND FORM TO EMPLOYER			
Print/Type Full Name	Signature	Date	
Previous Names Used	Social Security Number	Date of Birth	
License Number	Date Issued		
	SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY TI EMPLOYER/EMPLOYING AGENCY	HE	
The individual named above has made application	on to the Rhode Island Department of Health to become a N	Nursing Assistant.	
This is to certify that	e within the last year as a Nursing Assistant. The mployment has been completed.	has completed three (3) his also verifies that (1) hour of	
Name of Employer/Employing Agency:			
Address::			
City, State, Zip Code:			
Phone Number:			
Dates of Employment: From	n/day/year month/day/year		
Additional Comments:			
Certification:			
Signature of Administrator/DNS	Date		
Type or Print Name	Title		
Phone Number			
Acknowledgement:			

By signing this form,I hereby affirm that my comments and answers to the above questions are true and complete to the best of my knowlege

Please return directly to the above address. Thank you for your prompt cooperation.



## Rhode Island Department of Health Military Expedition Form

Please attach this form to the *front* of your completed application and mail to the address shown on the application cover.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § <u>5-88-1</u> et seq., upon application, this state may recognize occupational licenses, certificates or permits obtained from other states for military members and their spouses who relocate to this state pursuant to military orders. The Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) will expedite your or your spouse's health professional license application provided the following conditions are met.

### I. PROFESSION/LICENSE TYPE

Please indicate the profession and/or license type you are applying for so that your application can be routed to the correct office:

Profession/License Type:

### II. MILITARY STATUS

Please check ONE of the following criteria for expedition:

I am in active military duty or a reservist.

I am the spouse of someone in active military duty or the spouse of a reservist.

I am a military veteran with honorable discharge. You do not need to complete the rest of this application – please skip to the signature line.

### III. PROOF OF MILITARY STATUS

Please attach a copy of proof of your military status such as one of the following: Leave Earning Statement (LES), Letter from Command, or Copy of Orders

### IV. MILITARY CHANGE OF STATION ORDER

Permanent Change of Station Order

### V. PROOF OF GOOD STANDING

Proof of good standing from the board in the other state in which the person has a license.

### VI. Criminal Background Check (a "BCI") (unless required in the initial license application) BCI completed from the RI Attorney General's Office.

### VII. ATTESTATIONS:

Check all that apply:

No board in any other state has revoked the license for which I am applying as a result of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I have never surrendered an occupational license, certificate, or permit because of negligence or intentional misconduct.

I do not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation currently pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime.

I attest that the above responses and information are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and that none of the information set forth above is false, erroneous, or defective in any important, as set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-18-1. I understand that this application is being made to the Rhode Island Department of Health, which shall rely upon my attestation and the information provided in this document.

### Signature of Applicant

Date